USSR/communist occupation IV Soviet occupation

In 1940, the independent state of Latvia ceased to exist due to the occupation and annexation of Latvia by the Soviet Union and incorporation into the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR).

All institutions that ensured the sovereignty of the state, including the Foreign Affairs Department, the armed forces and the border guard, were eliminated. Latvia’s representative offices abroad were closed down, with their buildings and property taken over by the USSR. The army and border guard were scaled down, the officers and commanders were replaced.

The Soviet occupation lasted until 1991.

Two mass deportations of the Latvian people took place during the occupation, one in 1941 and one in 1949, where the people were subjected to repression and propaganda in addition to monetary reforms that were carried out.

More information sources

1. Soviet Occupation - Latvian Occupation Museum (occupation museum)

2. Soviet Occupation - Latvian Occupation Museum (occupation museum)

Related objects

Fire correction tower of the Ventspils 46th Coastal Defence Battery

The restored fire control tower of the 46th Coast Guard Battery in Ventspils is located on Saulrieta street and is available to visitors in the form of an observation tower. There are four artillery gun positions near the tower and it is the only World War II coastal defence battery in Latvia in such a good condition. Visitors can take the tower stairs to an outdoor viewing platform overlooking the sea. An information stand with a QR code is available next to the tower. You can use the QR to watch an animation about historical events. There is a new street leading to the tower, a large parking lot and a wooden footbridge that crosses the protected nature area next to the tower.

This military complex was built in 1939, marking the start of construction of USSR military bases in Latvia. The 46th Coast Guard Battery had four positions for the gun type Б-13. This battery had its first military engagement on 24 June 1941, when Ventspils harbour was attacked by German torpedo boats that were driven away from the shores of the Baltic Sea by battery fire. On June 28 the Soviet Army blew up the guns and left.

Zvaigznīte - Irbene military buildings

The 200-hectare site was once a top-secret military base occupied by military unit 51429.

Olman Battery No.456 (Soviet military base "Krasnoflotska")

The first coastal defence batteries for the defence of the Irbe Strait began to be built after 1912, when the Baltic Fleet Mine-Artillery Defence Position Plan was approved, which included several coastal defence batteries and sea mine-laying pens.

The Irbe Strait position was the furthest south, and its task was to block any enemy access to the Gulf of Riga. The main emphasis was on sea mines, tens of thousands of which were laid in the Irbe Strait during the First World War by ships of the Baltic Fleet. It was not until 1916 that coastal defence batteries began to be built on the southern tip of the island of Saaremaa, Cape Sirves. Seven batteries were built in total, and Battery 43 was equipped with 305 mm guns. No defence batteries were built on the Latvian coast of the Irbe Strait.

Even after the establishment of the Republic of Latvia, the Latvian army and navy did not establish artillery positions to defend the Irbe Strait.

The situation changed after the mutual assistance pact between the Republic of Latvia and the USSR of 5 October 1939, which provided for a contingent of the Red Army and the Baltic Naval Fleet to be stationed in Kurzeme. Soviet plans also included the establishment of a coastal defence system based on the 1912 plan, with improvements. The plan was to build coastal defence batteries on the site of the Liepaja fortress, with new batteries south of Ventspils (Battery No 46) and two batteries in the narrowest part of the Irbe Strait near Mikeltornis. Already after the occupation and annexation of Latvia, the coastal defence plans of the Baltic Navy were supplemented and by June 1941 the 207th Artillery Division with five batteries was planned to be established in the northern part of Kurzeme. Two batteries were to be set up in the vicinity of Mikeltornis - Battery 40 at Lūžņa with 130 mm B-13 guns in reinforced concrete fortifications, and Battery 117 at Olmani (a place designated on Latvian army maps as Ķesteri) with 152 mm MU-2 guns. As the development of the 152 mm guns was not completed, temporary wooden platforms were built on the reinforced concrete fortifications of the battery and four more 130 mm guns were installed. Both batteries were completed by June 1941, but the batteries could not be traced in the war against the German 291st Infantry Division, and their crews moved to the island of Saaremaa.

At the end of the Second World War, the German Army Group "Courland" was quite serious about possible Soviet landings in northern Courland, especially after the ice melted in the Gulf of Finland and on the west coast of Estonia. Improvised coastal defence batteries were deployed all along the Kurzeme coast. The Soviet Battery No 40, Gerate Batterie Sommer of the 289th Artillery Division with two 122 mm Soviet howitzers, was stationed in reinforced concrete positions near Luzhne. In the area of Battery 117's position was Battery 2 of the 530th Artillery Division with three 152 mm Soviet trophy guns, three 37 mm zenith drones, one 20 mm four-barrel zenith drones, two 75 mm anti-tank guns and two mortars for illumination.

After the end of active hostilities in May 1945, the USSR began to rebuild the coastal defence system on the Kurzeme coast. In the autumn of 1945, a temporary Battery 456 with 152 mm guns of the Kane system was deployed near the Olmanskiy home, which was renamed "Krasnoflotskaya".

In 1952, the temporary guns of the battery were replaced by the latest 152 mm MU-2 weapon systems. The battery consisted of four reinforced concrete gun emplacements, a reinforced concrete command post with a range-finder turret and technical buildings. The construction of the battery was completed in 1958.

In 1958, after the dismantling of the Luzhnia coastal defence battery, it was replaced by a mobile 130 mm SM-4-1 gun Battery No 343. The mobile guns did not have reinforced concrete gun emplacements, but several log and sand structures were built.

Battery 343 operated until the early 1960s, and Battery 456 until 1975, when it was preserved. The battery positions were used to deploy S-125 air defence missile complexes, as well as the 10th Coastal Defence Artillery-Missile Regiment with CP-2 Sopka missile complexes, and the infrastructure was modified accordingly.

The Soviet Army transferred the infrastructure of the Olmani and Luzhna batteries to the Republic of Latvia in 1993.

Former Soviet border guard observation tower in Pāvilosta

The Soviet border guard observation tower is located near the South Pier in Pāvilosta. The former Soviet border guard observation tower, which had been out of use since the early 1990s, now serves as a viewing platform with a 360-degree rotating land telescope. It offers beautiful views of the sea and ships and can be used for bird watching. Ascending the tower is only allowed during daylight hours in the summer season. As the stairs in the tower are quite steep, visitors should evaluate their abilities, health and associated risks. The observation tower and the surrounding area has video surveillance. The tower is closed to visitors during the winter season.

Collection of Soviet military trucks in Dundaga

Edgars Kārklevalks owns a guest house called Pūpoli in the Dundaga region, and for more than 15 years he has been taking people on historical and educational trips around northern Kurzeme (including to former military areas) with his own renovated Soviet Army truck GAZ-66 (up to 24 persons) and UAZ-3151 (up to 6 persons). Soviet Army trucks and other equipment are showcased in an area around the guest house.

Soviet Army Observation Tower (Kurgan of Officers)

“Virsnieku kurgāns” atrodas nepilnu kilometru no Zvārdes baznīcas drupām. Kurgāns veidots no apkārtējo māju un muižas drupām un paliekām, kas ar buldozeru sastumtas vienuviet. Uz kurgāna uzbūvēja novērošanas torni. Kā vēsta uzraksts, tad pašreizējais tornis uzbūvēts 1981. gadā. Torni izmantoja lai reģistrētu bumbu trāpījumus. Mācību bumbas bija ar samazinātu sprāgstvielas daudzumu, tāpēc to trāpījumi bija uzmanīgāk jāvēro. Nesprāgušās bumbas centās uzreiz neitralizēt, tomēr ne visas bija iespējams atrast.

 Mūsdienās šeit redzamas torņa paliekas – ķieģeļu sienas. Tā kā kurgāns ir salīdzinoši augsts, skaidrā laikā no tā iespējams pat saskatīt Lietuvas naftas rūpnīcu Mažeiķos.

Secret Soviet Bunker in Līgatne

Located in Līgatne parish, Cēsis municipality, the Soviet Secret Bunker lies 9 metres below the Līgatne Rehabilitation Centre building and its adjacent territory. The bunker is open to visitors and offers guided tours, meals in the bunker canteen, Soviet-style parties and the reality game Object X. The purpose of the bunker was to provide the minimum necessary conditions for long-term work for the Council of Ministers of the Latvian SSR, the leadership of the Communist Council of the LSSR and the management of the LSSR state planning committee in the event of a nuclear war threat. The 2,000-square-metre underground bunker was the strongest autonomous structure with all the required and most state-of-the-art equipment of the time, and also one of the most strategically important sites in Soviet-era Latvia in the event of a nuclear war. The site has a protected underground workspace (shelter), a sanatorium-type sleeping block for 250 people, security facilities and a 24-apartment residential house for service staff. All of the authentic underground equipment and plans have been preserved to this day. Highlights include an autonomous power plant with diesel generators and fuel storage, conditioning equipment for air purification with oxygen reserves, water supply and sewerage equipment operating on the submarine principle, a telecommunications unit capable of providing direct contact with the Kremlin in Moscow and autonomous communications with all major services in the country, a unique map with historical names of collective farms, an authentic canteen with typical Soviet-era meals, as well as various Soviet-era attributes and household items.

Soviet Army Missile base in Zeltiņi

The former Soviet Army Missile Base is located in Medņukalni, Zeltiņi parish, Alūksne municipality. This nuclear missile base was a particularly secret military facility of the Soviet Army, and it operated in Zeltiņi, Alūksne municipality, from 1961 to 1989. The facility housed P-12 (8K63) and P12Y (8K63Y) surface-to-surface medium-range ballistic missiles with 4 launch pads. Their travel distance was 2,200 kilometres. During this period the army used barbed-wire to secure an area of about 300 ha less than a kilometre from the Sinole-Silakrogs P34 national regional highway. The living and top-secret areas have remained a legacy even today. Concrete roads lead to places hidden from the eye at that time: hangars, launch pads and bomb shelters. Various structures for the maintenance and servicing of nuclear missiles are located on an area of dozens of hectares. Facilities providing the area with the autonomous supply of power, water and heat were destroyed with the withdrawal of the army. After the army left, some of the equipment was handed over to the local municipality. Visitors currently have access to 20 ha of the former territory of the missile base, the south-western part of which is a tourist attraction. Tourists visiting the base can choose between the core exhibit about the history of the missile base, which is located in the Zeltiņi Museum, and a tourist route in the base area. Friends in a group of up to 12 people can enjoy a game of laser tag here.

Watch tower of border guards in Salacgrīva

Atrodas Salacgrīvā, ZA virzienā, 1 km attālumā no tilta pār Salacu.

Padomju armijas karabāze Salacgrīvā ir viena no okupācijas karaspēka kādreizējām dislokācijas vietām. Salacgrīvā atradās pretgaisa aizsardzības vienība. Tā bija salīdzinoši maza un kļuva par pirmo karaspēka vienību, kas atstāja Latviju 1992. gadā. Šajā laikā notika vērienīga Latvijas izlaupīšana, kad Latvijas valsts piekāpās Krievijas prasībām, lai pēc iespējas ātrāk teritoriju atstātu okupācijas armija.

Pēc 2. pasaules kara Latvijas teritorijā turpinājās strauja un vērienīga Padomju armijas militaro objektu būvniecība. Karabāzes bija kā valsts valstī. Tiek uzskatīts,  ka okupētā Latvija kļuva par militarizētāko vietu pasaulē un kara gadījumā tā tiktu pilnībā nopostīta. Kriminālnoziegumi, impēriskā attieksme un visatļautība visspilgtāk raksturoja Padomju armijas klātbūtni Latvijā. Rūpīgi uzturētais mīts par „laimīgo dzīvi Padomju Latvijā” un Padomju armiju kā „atbrīvotāju” patiesībā bija „dzīve uz pulvera mucas”. Pēc Latvijas neatkarības atjaunošanas, tikai 1994. gadā Latviju pameta svešā armija, taču desmitiem tūkstošu atvaļināto padomju militārpersonu ar ģimenēm palika Latvijā.

Mūsdienās var aplūkot bāzes teritoriju.

 

Aizkraukle museum of History and Art, exposition "Soviet years"

The exhibit is located in the former culture house of Aizkraukle parish. It reflects the everyday social, recreational, professional, educational and cultural life in Soviet times, as well as the history of how Aizkraukle (during Soviet times – Stučka) and the Pļaviņu HPP came to be. Visitors can view the ‘Red Corner’ with its historical propaganda materials, the office of a party functionary and a typical Soviet apartment with a living room, kitchen, bathroom and toilet and their corresponding attributes. Some rooms are dedicated to Soviet medicine, tourism and sports as well as repression tactics. There is a spacious hall in the centre of the exhibit for Soviet-made vehicles. This was started in 2016 by the Aizkraukle History and Art Museum by setting up the exhibit on three floors. Nowadays it is the largest exhibit in the Baltics dedicated to this period of Soviet occupation.

Former Soviet army missile base "Raketnieki"

The former Soviet army base buildings are in a state of disrepair, but there is a motor track on the site. The area can be explored on foot, but good footwear against mud and sand is required.

Soviet border guard post in Jūrmalciems

After the Second World War, Latvia had various prohibitions in border and coastal areas. From 19 June 1945, fishermen were assigned piers, which were fenced off with barbed wire, guarded by patrols and watchtowers. On 4 September 1946, the prohibited coast guard zones on the Western border of the LSSR were introduced.

In Jūrmalci village there is a former border guard control post, a tower and a tractor proudly rocking on the beach! How it got there is something to ask the local guides!

A fabulously beautiful and interesting place - both with its Soviet-era aura and the charm of the seashore. 

Zvārde shooting range and former Soviet military base "Lapsas"

The landfill's service base is located approximately 2 kilometres east of Striķu Manor, on the Saldus-Auce road. The former Soviet Military Aviation Target Range (military unit No 15439) in Zvārde is located south of Saldus. The territory of the airfield is home to several sights - the ruins of Zvārde and Ķerkliņi churches, the ruined Rīteļi cemetery, the observation post of the airfield, the so-called "Officers' Kurgan" and the former airfield personnel base and shooting range "Lapsas".

The Zvārde air target range required a unit of approximately one company to service the air target range - to install targets, repair damage, guard the air target range and coordinate air flights. It was based on the site of the house called "Lapsas" until the Second World War. With the construction of the airfield, barracks, transport sheds, a flight control tower and a firing range for training personnel were built.

After Latvia regained its independence, the Zvārde Defence Forces Training Centre operated here, but since 2007 the site has been owned by the municipality and leased by several hunting collectives. The former barracks house an exhibition on the history of Zvārde parish.

Akmeņrags Lighthouse and the fate of the "Saratov"

The Akmeņrags Lighthouse is located in Saka parish, 10 kilometres southwest of Pāvilosta. The top of the lighthouse can be reached by a spiral staircase and it offers views of the sea and the surrounding forests. Standing at 37 metres high, the current lighthouse tower was built in 1921, while the previous lighthouse was destroyed during World War I.

The Akmeņrags Lighthouse stands out among other lighthouses in Latvia, as it is located in one of the most dangerous places for sailing in the entire Baltic Sea coast. The signal beam of the lighthouse marks a rocky bank, which extends approximately two nautical miles or 3.7 kilometres into the sea in a north-western direction. The depth of the bank is just over two metres. The location of the lighthouse has remained unchanged, but the coastline has been receding over the years. Although a navigation light has been here since 1879, Akmeņrags has seen several shipwrecks. The most notable occurred in September 1923 when a Latvian steamer named Saratow struck the ground. In 1919, Saratow briefly served as the seat of the Latvian Provisional Government. Akmeņrags used to be home to a border guard post, and buildings of the Soviet Army are can be viewed here.

Soviet army military base in Pāvilosta - active recreation centre

During the Soviet era, a border guard unit was located here, other Soviet army units - liaison officers and a surface-to-air missile base were located several kilometres away in the forest. After independence, the Latvian army was stationed there.

The former Soviet army military base is now a recreation, leisure and camping centre - for personal development in interaction with nature and the people around. 

A place for recreation and accommodation for both tourist groups and families. Rooms, showers, WC, fireplaces, spacious area for activities, sounds of nature. Book in advance by calling +371 26314505.

Soviet army town in Mežgarciems

The former Soviet Army town is located in Mežgarciems, Ādaži municipality, near the P1 highway. It was a small town inhabited by the air defence units of the Soviet Army and used as a military training base. Informative stands have been placed near the town. The former army base area is available to visitors. Mežgarciems did not exist on the maps during the Soviet occupation. And there was nothing to suggest that there was a small town built for the Soviet military with air defence capabilities. Wide-spread construction of Soviet Army stations was rapidly started in the territory of Latvia after World War II. And these army bases were like separate states within the country. There were military units almost in every location in Latvia. An especially privileged part of the society was the retired USSR military personnel and their families, who were entitled to living space as a matter of priority. Many chose Latvian cities, because the standard of living here was higher than elsewhere in the Soviet Union. The presence of the Soviet Army in Latvia was characterised by criminal behaviour, imperialistic attitude and impunity, demonstrating the regime’s indifferent attitude towards Latvia and its people. And the carefully maintained myth of the happy life in Soviet Latvia and the Soviet Army as the liberator was actually like living on a powder keg.

Ādama Tērauda skola

Skolas ēka pilsētas centrā atrodas Ausekļa ielas kreisajā pusē, blakus Valkas Jāņa Cimzes ģimnāzijai.

Ēkā, kas nosaukta skolotāja Ādama Tērauda vārdā, sākotnēji atradās skola un tās celtniecība pabeigta 1923.gadā. 1946.gadā šeit tika izvietots armijas garnizona militārais štābs. Tādējādi Valkas pilsētas centrā radās militārais centrs, un Valka kļuva par PSRS armijas svarīgu kodolbruņojuma objektu. Ēkas teritorija tika apjozta ar augstu sētu un to dēvēja par pilsētu pilsētā, jo tur armijnieku vajadzībām bija savs veikals, slimnīca, katlu māja un pat kafejnīca. Ēkas jumta daļā tika izvietota Padomju varas simbolika – sarkanā zvaigzne. Armija šo vietu atstāja 20. gs. 80. gadu beigās, līdzi paņemot visu, ko varēja aiznest.

Turpat blakus aiz Ādama Tērauda skolas un pazemes bunkuriem atrodas Zviedru (Šeremetjeva) skansts. Mākslīgi veidotais zemes valnis tika veidots Lielā Ziemeļu kara sākumā, ap 1702.gadu, lai aizsargātu Valku pret zviedriem. Skansts stāvākā siena ir vērsta pret Ērģemi, bet otra puse pret Ausekļa ielu.

Mūsdienās Ādama Tērauda skola ir apskatāma tikai no ārpuses.

Underground Military bunkers in Valka

The Valka bunkers are located in the centre of the city of Valka, on the left side of Ausekļa street, next to the Ādams Tērauds School. Visitors can only view the bunkers from the outside. The Soviet Army bunkers in Valka were among the most secret places in Soviet Latvia only accessible to people with special permits. From 1953 to 1989, they were home to the Soviet Army’s strategic missile communications reserve. Large 16 wheelers were used to deliver massive reinforced concrete blocks for building the bunkers. Once completed, all three bunkers were covered with gravel for additional reinforcement and insulation. The bunkers housed a strategic missile communications reserve subordinated to the Leningrad Communications Centre. Silos with army missiles were controlled from these bunkers. There were 20 such silos in the Valka and Valga area. In October 1962, during the Cuban Missile Crisis, these missiles were combat-ready and aimed at Florida. Legend has it that they were a couple of hours shy from actually being launched. Right next to the Ādams Tērauds School and the underground bunkers is the Swedish (Sheremetyevo) Fortification. The artificial wall of earth was built at the beginning of the Great Northern War, around 1702, to protect Valka against the Swedes. The steepest wall of the fortification faces the village of Ērģeme, while the other side faces Ausekļa street.

Valka train station

The Valka Railway Station is located at the end of Poruka street, next to a set of train tracks that are out of use. The station building can only be viewed from the outside where information stands of the importance of the railway in Valka and Valga are in place. Near the station building is a memorial stone devoted to the people deported to Siberia on 14 June 1941. The station building was constructed around 1896-1897. Narrow-gauge railway lines in the Valka-Rūjiena-Pärnu section were put in place here initially. During World War I, the railway was severely damaged. After establishing the state border, the Valka Railway Station (Valka II) became a border station. In late September 1920, the special Railway Board Commission arrived in Valka. The commission was authorised to negotiate and conclude an agreement with Estonia on the transfer of passengers from the station of one state to the other. The tracks between the triangularly placed Lugaži, Valka and Valga stations were strategically important, as they allowed armoured trains to turn around and move in the opposite direction. During the Soviet period, the USSR Army used this station to deliver ballistic missiles to Valka. A mass deportation of the Latvian people to the inland areas of the USSR took place on the night of 13-14 June 1941. More than 90 people from Valka and the surrounding areas were put in cattle waggons to be deported from the Valka Railway Station without any court judgement, prior warning or explanations. In September 1944, the station was destroyed by the retreating German Army.

Latvian Army Summer Camp in Litene

The Latvian Army Summer Camp in Litene is located in the forest in Litene parish, near the Pededze River. The beginnings of the Litene Camp can be traced back to 1935 when the construction of a summer camp complex for the Latgale division of the Latvian Army was started. From May to autumn, several thousand soldiers learned combat tactics and shooting skills in Litene. In the summer of 1941, Latvian Army officers were arrested by Red Army and NKVD troops at an army summer camp in Litene. Several officers were shot on the spot, while others were deported to Siberia. On 14 June 1941, at least 430 officers were arrested and deported to Siberia in the Litene and Ostrovieši camps about 10 kilometres from Litene. The only historical building that has survived from the camp is a food storage facility. Only the foundations remain from the other buildings. There is a viewing platform with the Latvian flag, benches and a well-maintained place for a fire. A demilitarised cannon was installed with the support of the Ministry of Defence and the National Armed Forces. Information boards are in place. The Wall of Pain memorial in the Litene graveyard is also connected with the events at the Litene camp. The YouTube channel of the Latvian Army features a video named ‘Litene, Katyn of the Latvian Army’.

Gulbenes novada vēstures un mākslas muzejs

Atrodas pie Vecgulbenes muižas, Litenes ielā.

1940.gadu 2.pusē Vecgulbenes muižas oranžērijā un blakus esošajā muižas dārznieka mājā tiek dislocēta padomju armijas daļas Nr.75568 radiolokācijas rota, tās vajadzībām lidlaukā (bij. Latvijas kara aviācijas aerodroms) tika uzbērti lokatorkalni un uzstādīti lokatori. 1980.gadu beigās tos pārceļ uz Beļavas pagastu. Padomju armija Gulbeni atstāja 1993.gadā.

Redzams laukums, kurā atrodas divi mākslīgi uzbērti uzkalni Litenes ielā.


 

Memoriāls „Sāpju siena”

Artrodas Litenes kapos.

2001.gada 14.jūnijā Litenes kapos tika atklāts arhitektu Dinas Grūbes, Benitas un Daiņa Bērziņu, akmeņkaļu Ivara Feldberga un Sandra Skribnovska radītais memoriāls „Sāpju siena”, tā simbolizē 1941.gada nogalināto karavīru atdusas vietu. 1988.gada oktobrī bijušās Latvijas armijas vasaras nometnes teritorijā Sitas silā Litenes pagastā tika atrasti 1941.gada jūnijā padomju armijas noslepkavoto 11 virsnieku pīšļi. Lai gan tos neizdevās identificēt, tomēr 1989.gada 2.decembrī, iesvētot dievkalpojumā Gulbenes evaņģēliski luteriskajā baznīcā, svinīgi pārapbedīja Litenes kapos.

11 balti krusti, piemiņas plāksne un informācijas stendi.

 

Memorial site of national partisans in Sērmūkši

Sērmūkši is home to one of more than a hundred memorials to partisan battles in Latvia. There are more than six hundred partisan battle sites in Latvia. A Latvian national partisan dugout has been built based on historical evidence, and visitors can spend the night in near-authentic conditions with plank beds, lighting provided by kerosene lamps and a heating device similar to the ones used by partisans. Visits must be booked in advance. The fateful moment for the Sērmūkši National Partisan Group came on 29 November 1946 with the deaths of four fighters from the group: Jānis Zīrāks, Reinholds Pētersons, Jānis Pīlands and Anna Zariņa. Alfrēds Suipe survived, endured deportation, returned to Latvia and saw the restoration of a free state. He initiated the idea to establish a memorial site for his fallen companions in Sērmūkši.

Piemineklis Ziemeļaustrumu nacionālo partizānu komandierim Pēterim Supem - "Cinītim"

Godinot nacionālo partizānu komandiera Pētera Supes piemiņu, 2005.gada 28.maijā Viļakā tika atklāts viņam veltīts piemineklis. Tas novietots netālu no Viļakas katoļu baznīcas, kara laikā izrakto tranšeju malā, kur čekisti apraka nošautos nacionālos partizānus. Zem P.Supem veltītā pieminekļa ievietota kapsula ar 386 kritušo  nacionālo partizānu vārdiem, kauju aprakstiem un materiāliem par partizānu komandieri. Akmenī iekalti vārdi: "Tev, Latvija, es paliku uzticīgs līdz pēdējam elpas vilcienam".
Pieminekli veidojis Pēteris Kravalis.

Līdzās atrodas piemiņas vieta Stompaku mežā un citās kauju vietās kritušajiem un čekistu noslepkavotajiem Latvijas brīvības cīnītājiem 1944.-1956.g.
Pie labējās sienas 2008. gada 20. jūnijā atklāta granīta plāksne ar trijās slejās izkārtotiem 55 kritušo partizānu vārdiem.
Piemineklis uzstādīts vietā, kur komunistiskās okupācijas varasiestādes savulaik pārējo iedzīvotāju iebiedēšanai bija izstādījušas noslepkavoto partizānu mirstīgās atliekas.

Uz līdzās esošās plāksnes iegravēti pateicības vārdi Pēterim Supem un Broņislavas Martuževas dzejolis:
"Celies, Pēteri Supe,
Dvēsele, karā kautā!
Šodien Tavs asins upuris,
Augšām cēlies tautā.
Iziet mūžīgi dzīvot
Jaunajo spēkā un sparā,
Uzvijas, uzplīvo, uzpalo
Augšāmskrejošā karogā!"

Bunker of national partisans – Forest Brothers

The Forest Brothers’ Bunker is located by the Riga-Pskov (A2) highway 76 kilometres from Riga and 11 kilometres from Cēsis. The Latvian national partisans or Forest Brothers were small, armed groups of local residents who fought their independent battles against the occupation regime of the USSR in the territory of Latvia from 1944 to 1956. Forced to hide in the forests, these were people who could not or did not want to live in the Soviet Union. A total of around 20,193 Forest Brothers operated in Latvia. The bunker was formed based on the stories and memories of former Forest Brothers about life in the forests, hiding and fighting for the independent state of Latvia after 1945. The bunker showcases armaments and household items. The personal belongings, weapons and photos of partisans are on display. The guide’s narration is enriched by a video from interviews with Forest Brothers. There is a place for picnic campfires by the bunker. It is possible to pre-order a soup prepared on the fire or enjoy an evening of outdoor cinema by the fire.

Nacionālo un padomju partizānu cīņu un piemiņas vietas Grīvas meža masīvā

Atrodas Grīvas meža masīvā.
Apskatāmi seši objekti, kas saistīti ar nacionālo un padomju partizānu cīņu vietām.
Grīvas mežu masīvā atrodas ne tikai “Purvsaliņu” nacionālo partizānu mītnes, Baltais krusts nacionālo partizānu bunkurā un krusts pretestības kustības komandierim Andrejam Roskošam, bet arī padomju partizānu brigādes komandiera Artūra Baloža kaps, piemineklis tā dēvētajā Meiteņu kalniņā, kurā 1944.  gadā gāja bojā padomju partizānu brigādes jauno partizānu grupa, kā arī monuments padomju partizāniem ar piecstaru zvaigzni un iegravētiem vārdiem “Kaut skujām sevi sedzām”.

Objektus iespējams arī apskatīt dodoties izbraucienā ar divriteni velomaršrutā Nr. 785 - "Vēstures atskaņas Grīvas mežos" (maršruta garums 34 km, grants un meža ceļi). Karte lejupielādei.

Piemiņas vieta nacionālo partizānu grupas komandierim Andrejam Roskošam (GPS 56.87399, 27.43524)
1997. gada rudenī Lielgrīvas mežā atklāts Baltais krusts nacionālo partizānu grupas komandierim Andrejam Roskošam.

Piemineklis Artūram Balodim (GPS 56.872926, 27.478121)
Artūrs Balodis bija padomju partizāns, īpašo uzdevumu komandieris A apakšvienībai, kura mitinājās Grīvas mežu masīvā. Krita apjomīgajā “ķemmēšanā“, ko veica nacistiskās Vācijas okupanti. Kaujasbiedri vietā, kur viņš gāja bojā, bērzā iegrieza burtus AB, lai to neaizmirstu. Pēc kara novadpētnieki iezīmēto bērzu atrada un tai vietā uzstādīja piemiņas plāksni.

Visiem Grīvas mežos kritušajiem (GPS 56.863280, 27.47975)
Šo piemiņas akmeni Grīvas mežu masīvā ir uzstādījuši VAS “Latvijas valsts meži” par godu partizāniem, kuri cīnījās par savu dzimteni. Blakus piemiņas akmenim ir karte-shēma ar partizānu mītņu – apskates objektu norādēm. Ir ierīkota arī atpūtas vieta. Netālu atrodas nacionālo partizānu apmetnes vieta, 1945.-1947.gads.

Nacionālo partizānu apmetnes vieta (GPS 56.863456, 27.481148)
Šai vietā atradās nacionālo partizānu, kuri cīnījās pret padomju okupāciju, apmetnes. Ir saglabājušās atsevišķu bunkuru vietas, pēc kuru vizuālā izskata var spriest, cik lielas un kādas formas bijušas zemnīcas. Nacionālie partizāni, pretojoties padomju varai, Grīvas mežos darbojās vairākus gadus pēc otrā pasaules kara beigām.

Grīvas mežu memoriālais ansamblis, zemnīca (GPS 56.860665, 27.490439)
Uzcelts par piemiņu padomju partizāniem, kuri mitinājās Grīvas mežos. Partizāni spridzināja vietējo dzelceļu tīklu un vilcienu sastāvus, lai traucētu nacistiskā Vācijas armijas munīcijas, pārtikas u.c. piegādei. Vietās, kur kara laikā bija izraktas zemnīcas, ir novietoti piemiņas akmeņi. Atjaunotajā zemnīcā var izjust kara laiku atmosfēru.

Meiteņu kalniņš (GPS 56.858187, 27.521526)
1944. gada jūnijā nacistiskās Vācijas okupanti veica plašu Grīvas mežu “ķemmēšanu“ ar nolūku iznīcināt partizānus. Karavīri uz Numernes kalniņa aplenca saimniecisko rotu, kurā pārsvarā bija jaunas meitenes, un visas tika nošautas. Kopš šiem traģiskajiem notikumiem Numernes kalniņu vietējie iedzīvotāji pārdēvēja par Meiteņu kalniņu. Šajā vietā ir uzstādīts piemiņas akmens.

Piemiņas akmens Alsviķu pagasta nacionālajiem partizāniem “Čūskubirzī”

Atrodas “Čūskubirzs”, Alsviķu pagasts, Alūksnes novads.

Piemiņas akmens atklāts 2018. gada 21. augustā. Akmeņkalis Ainārs Zelčs.

Šeit meža masīvā saglabājusies bunkura vieta, kur 1947. gada jūnijā Latvijas Nacionālās partizānu apvienības ģenerālštāba sakaru daļas priekšnieks Antons Circāns ieradās uz tikšanos ar Bruno Bukaldera vadītajiem partizānu pārstāvjiem, lai organizētu un uzturētu sakarus starp atsevišķām nacionālo partizānu grupām. Antona Circāna mērķis netika īstenots, jo 1947. gada 7. jūlijā netālu no Drustiem viņš gāja bojā.

Piemiņas plāksne Veclaicenes nacionālajiem partizāniem bunkura vietā

Atrodas Veclaicenes pagastā Alūksnes novadā.

Atklāts 2019. gada 4. oktobrī. Akmeņkalis Ainārs Zelčs.
1953. gada 13. martā Veclaicenes mežos netālu no “Koruļu” mājām čekisti atklāja rūpīgi nomaskētu bunkuru un arestēja Bernhardu Ābelkoku un Elmāru Tortūzi.
Bunkurā tika atrasti ieroči: 2 vācu šautenes un 95 patronas, 2 pistoles “Parabellum” un 152 patronas.
1949. gada 11. novembrī čekas aģenti K. Dokti-Doktenieku nošāva, un viņa grupa izira. Pēc uzbrukuma B. Ābelkoks un E. Tortūzis kādu laiku slēpās bunkurā “Maskaļu” māju tuvumā, bet no 1951. gada pavasara, ar Ilonas Ābolkalnas atbalstu, ierīkoja bunkuru “Koruļos”, kur dzīvoja līdz arestam.

Broņislava Martuževa poetry barn

The Broņislava Martuževa Museum is situated on the site of the poet’s childhood home in Indrāni parish, Madona municipality. The museum’s exhibit is located in a renovated barn featuring voice and video evidence from the National Resistance Movement and the work of the poet in publishing an underground magazine, as well as composing poetry and songs for national partisans. Broņislava Martuževa was involved with the resistance movement since its inception. Lazdiņas, Martuževa’s home which has not survived, also served as a place of refuge for Pēteris Supe, Head of the Latvian National Partisan Association, and his comrades-in-arms. The poet spent five years hiding in the basement of her home, meeting with partisans, writing poetry (including work dedicated to partisans Pēteris Supe, Vilis Toms, Smilga Group, Laivenieks, Salns, Celmiņš, Bruno Dundurs and others), as well as writing songs and teaching them to partisans. Now, her songs are sung by the ‘Baltie lāči’ group (literally: ‘White Bears’). In 1950, the ‘Dzimtene’ magazine (literally: ‘Motherland’) was published underground together with Vilis Toms. The poet transcribed 11 issues of the magazine, 10 copies each, by hand. The poet, her brother, sister, mother and Vilis Toms were arrested in 1951. Bronislava Martuževa returned from Siberia in 1956. Recognised locally and nationally, the poetry barn is visited by both local residents and guests of the municipality. Learning about the poet’s life gives you the opportunity to discover the fate of Latvia.

Piemiņas vieta kritušajiem latviešu leģiona karavīriem un nacionālajiem partizāniem

Atrodas Indrānu pagastā Lubānas Jaunajos kapos.

Apskatāma piemiņas vieta kritušajiem latviešu leģiona karavīriem un nacionālajiem partizāniem

Piemiņas vieta tika atklāta 1992.gada 25.jūlijā. Piemiņas akmeni veidojis Andris Briezis.

Sākoties Atmodai, 1990. gada oktobrī cilvēktiesību aizstāvības grupas “Helsinki 86” biedrs Kārlis Doropoļskis saņēma varasiestāžu atļauju sākt 1944. gada vasarā Lubānas apkārtnē kritušo un izklaidus apglabāto latviešu leģionāru, kā arī vēlākās cīņās ar PSRS okupācijas karaspēku un drošības iestādēm kritušo nacionālo partizānu pārapbedīšanu kopīgos brāļu kapos, kas tika iekārtoti Lubānas jaunajos kapos. Kopumā brāļu kapos apbedīti 26 kritušie leģionāri un nacionālie partizāni.

Nacionālo partizānu grupas “Jumba” bunkura piemiņas vieta

Atrodas Ziemera pagastā Valsts mežu 66. Kvartālā.

Piemiņas vieta atklāta 2020. gada 10. jūlijā.
Latvijas nacionālo partizānu kustības otrajā posmā, 1948. gada vidū, 4 cilvēku grupa- Viks Pētersi, Stebers Rolands, Bukāns Ilgmārs un Kangsepa Elvīra atdalījās no J. Bitāna- Liepača vienības Mālupes- Bejas pagastu teritorijā un uzsāka patstāvīgu darbību Ziemera-Jaunlaicenes- Veclaicenes pagastos. Partizānu mītnes vieta bija Igaunijas robežas tuvumā, netālu no Rīgas- Pleskavas šosejas, uzkalniņā, pamatīgi izbūvētā bunkurā.
1950. gada 2. martā, kad čekisti atklāja bunkuru, partizāni paslēpās Igaunijas pusē “Napkes” mājās no laukakmeņiem celtā šķūnī. Pēc ilgas un intensīvas apšaudes 1950. gada 3. martā čekistiem izdevās šķūni aizdedzināt. Ilgmārs Bukāns, Rolands Stebers un Elvīra Kangsepa kopā ar jaundzimušo meitiņu sadega. Pēteris Viks izlēca pa šķūņa logu un paslēpās mājas bēniņos, kur viņu arī atrada un nošāva. Saimniecību nodedzināja. Visu kritušo partizānu ķermeņus nogādāja Alūksnē. Cīnītāju bojāejas vietā 1990. gadu sākumā uzstādīja piemiņas zīmi. Elvīras Kangsepas degošajā šķūnī dzimušajai meitiņai deva vārdu Liesma.

Trail and partisan memorial in Stompaki bog

The Stompaki Bog Area is a specially protected nature and NATURA 2000 territory located between the cities of Balvi and Viļaka. The eastern part of the bog features a marked 1.5-kilometre trail that crosses the forest and also a small part of the high bog (wooden footbridges), leading to five islands within the bog where the national partisans had built residential bunkers. Information stands along the edges of the trail tell about the local natural values and historical events. There is a rest area by the trail. Directions from the P35 road will help visitors find the trail. In early March 1945, one of the largest national partisan settlements in the Baltic States was established at the Stompaki Camp. About 350 to 360 people lived here, including 40 to 50 women. Starting from January 1945, national partisans carried out regular attacks on the military personnel of the occupation regime and their supporters. The camp had a bakery, a church bunker and 25 residential bunkers, immersed halfway into the ground, for accommodating 8 to 30 people. The bunker sites are still visible today. The Battle of Stompaki, the largest battle in the history of Latvian national partisan battles, took place here on 2-3 March 1945. The anti-partisan forces consisted of a total of about 483 soldiers, including subunits of the 2nd and 3rd Rifle Battalions of the 143rd Rifle Regiment of the NKVD 5th Rifle Division, the rifle platoon (armed with submachine guns), mortar company, reconnaissance and sapper platoons, as well as the so-called ‘istrebitel’ (destruction) fighters.

Vesetas partizāņu zemnīca un piemiņas vieta "Baltais krusts"

Apskatāms izgatavots un uzstādīts 3 m augsts krusts baltā krāsā plāksnes ar 1946. gada 2. jūlijā nošauto Latvijas nacionālo partizānu vārdiem. Turpat blakus atjaunota zemnīca. Lai vieglāk būtu šo vietu atrast, no Vietalvas puses uzstādīta norāde ar uzrakstu “Baltais krusts”. 

Otrā pasaules kara laikā Vietalvas apkārtnē risinājās aktīva kara darbība, un ar to saistīti arī notikumi pēc kara beigām. Pēckara gados te darbojās tā saucamā “Pārupa grupa”, kuras vadītājs bija Rihards Pārups (1914 - 1946) .
1946. gadā nodevības dēļ šajā vietā tika nošauti 10 partizāni. 

Pārupa grupai piemiņas akmens uzstādīts arī Jēkabpilī pie Krustpils luterāņu baznīcas.

Projektu realizēja bijušie Ulda Eiduka jaunsargu grupas aktīvisti.
No Pļaviņu puses piemiņas vieta sasniedzama ejot pa koka laipām un pavasarī un rudenī objekta pieejamība var būt apgrūtinoša.

Video sižets par Riharda Pārupa 100gadei veltīto izstādi

Piemineklis pretošanās kustības dalībniekiem Stompakos

Atrodas 15 km no Balviem Viļakas virzienā, labajā ceļa malā.

Redzama piemiņas zīme.

Piemiņas zīmi pretošanās kustības dalībniekiem, veltītu 1945.gada 2. un 3. marta kaujās kritušo Pētera Supes nacionālo partizānu piemiņai Balvu - Viļakas šosejas malā pretī Stompaku purvam atklāja 2011.gada 11.augustā, Latvijas brīvības cīnītāju piemiņas dienā. Jūlija beigās pieminekļa pamata pēdā tika iemūrēta kapsula ar vēstījumu nākamajām paaudzēm. Kapsulā ievietots dokuments ar 1945.gada 2. un 3. marta kaujās 28 kritušo nacionālo partizānu vārdiem.

"1945.gada februārī Stompaku purva salās, ko tautā sāka saukt par Stompaku purva saliņu mītnēm, 2 km no Balvu - Viļakas lielceļa bija izveidota Latvijas lielākā nacionālo partizānu nometne, kur 22 zemnīcās mitinājās 360 cilvēki. Starp tiem daļa leģionāru, kas, leģiona divīzijai atkāpjoties, ar visu bruņojumu bija palikuši tēva mājās. Lai iznīcinātu partizānus, 1945.gada 2.martā zemnīcām uzbruka divu čekas karaspēka bataljonu karavīri kopā ar iznīcinātājiem, kam bruņojumā bija arī četri mīnmetēji. Kaujas notika visu dienu, partizāni sīksti pretojās, un uzbrucēji cieta lielus zaudējumus, tā ka ieņemt nometni un iznīcināt partizānus nespēja. Kaujā bija krituši vai pēc smaga ievainojuma nomiruši arī 28 Stompaku purva iemītnieki. Nākamajā naktī partizāni ar kauju pārrāva nometnes aplenkumu un aizgāja neuzvarēti" - tā par Stompaku kauja raksta Balvu nodaļas nacionālās pretošanās kustības dalībnieku lietu komisijas priekšsēdētājs Zigfrīds Berķis.

Exposition “Abrene Rooms”

The exhibit ‘Abrene Rooms’ is located near the city centre of Viļaka. It covers the period from 1920 to 1960 when Viļaka was part of Jaunlatgale, Abrene district, and became the centre of Viļaka district and Abrene municipality. The exhibit is located in the building with the most interesting and diverse history in Viļaka. Initially located on the old Marienhausen Market Square, it later housed apartments, offices and various shops and, during World War  II, the Latvian Self-Defence headquarters, the Gestapo and also the Cheka. The exhibit features items from the national partisan camp in the Stompaki Bog, which are related to the national partisan movement in the Latgale region, as well as documents and photos associated with the War of Independence. With a guided tour booked in advance, the owner, Dzintars Dvinskis, will present the testimonies available in the exhibit.

Piemiņas vieta “Bitāna bunkuri”

Atrodas Mālupes pagasts, Alūksnes novads.

Piemiņas akmens atklāts 2017. gada 13. oktobrī. Akmeņkalis Ainārs Zelčs.

1945. gada 24. augustā Latgalē, Dubnas mežos, bija nodibināta Latvijas Nacionālo partizānu apvienība (LNPA) ar mērķi atjaunot 1918. gada Latvijas Republiku. Labākai partizānu grupu darbības koordinēšanai, izveidojās reģionālie štābi. Nacionālo partizānu grupas, kas darbojās Bejas, Mālupes, Mārkalnes pagastos, apvienojās “Priedolaines” sektorā. Reģionālo štābu vadīja Jānis Liepacis. Katrā reģionālajā štābā izveidojās propogandas nodaļas. Viena no tādām, kuras komandieris bija Jānis Bitāns, izveidojās Mālupes pagasta meža masīvā. Šeit, bunkurā, no 1946. līdz 1948. gadam tika drukāti pieci Latvijas Nacionālo partizānu apvienības preses izdevumi “Mazais Latvis”, “Liesma”, “Auseklis”, “Māras Zeme” un “Tautas Sargs”. Informācijas sagatavošanā un izplatīšanā iesaistījās Alūksnes ģimnāzijas jauniešu pretošanās kustība “Dzimtenes Sili”.

Piemiņas akmens Ilzenē pie “Sarvu” un “Meļļu” mājām

Atrodas Ilzenes pagasts, Alūksnes novads.

Piemiņas akmens atklāts 2018. gada 28. septembrī. Akmeņkalis Ainārs Zelčs.

Šo Ilzenes pagastu māju iedzīvotāji no 1944. gada rudens atbalstīja Voldemāra Andersona (“Vecā”) vadītos nacionālos partizānus, kuru bunkurs atradās netālu meža biezoknī. 1945. gada 23. novembrī bunkuru aplenca NKVD karavīri. Kaujā gāja bojā deviņi cīnītāji. Pēc tās tika atrasti 2 ložmetēji, 14 automāti, 11 šautenes, 10 pistoles, 3500 patronas, 45 granātas, 4 binokļi. Voldemāra Andersona grupas iznīcināšana bija plānota čekas aģentūras lietā “Ķēde”(“Цепь”).

Grupas sastāvā darbojās Voldemārs Pāvels Andersons (“Vecais”), Gastons Dzelzkalējs, Voldemārs Tonnis, Centis Eizāns, Osvalds Kalējs, Jānis Koemets, Stāvais (“Polis”), Voldemārs Rappa, Eduards Rappa, Elmārs Rappa (palika dzīvs).

2. pasaules karā kritušo padomju karavīru Brāļu kapu ansamblis

Atrodas Skolas ielā pie Spārītes parka.

Redzams četru cilvēku skulptūras, memoriāls.

2.pasaules karā kritušo padomju karavīru Brāļu kapu skulpturālā ansambļa autors ir arhitekts G.Barkāns, tēlnieces G.Grundberga un I.Zandberga. Pie brāļu kapavietām izveidota piemiņas siena ar 36 akmens plāksnēm, uz kurām iegravēti kritušo uzvārdi, iniciāļi un dienesta pakāpes. Piemineklis atklāts 1968.gadā, kad šeit tika pārapbedīti kritušie no dažādiem tā laika Gulbenes rajona ciemu brāļu kapiem.
Kopskaitā brāļu kapos apglabāti 1125 padomju karavīri, partizāni un miliči. 

Cattle wagon used for deportations – museum at Skrunda train station

To commemorate the deportations of June 1941 and March 1949, a memorial stone and a four-axle wagon, which also serves as the museum dedicated to deportations, was erected at the Skrunda railway station. This is the first wagon-type museum in Latvia that holds a permanent exhibit of photos, letters, memoirs, documents and various items made by the people deported from the Skrunda station. Skrunda station was a location where deportees were gathered, and one of the three stations in the region to which people from the Skrunda and the Kuldīga area were brought. In 1941, the family of the first President of the restored Republic of Latvia, Guntis Ulmanis, was deported from here to Krasnoyarsk Krai in Siberia.

With the help of deportations, the Soviets dealt with supporters of the national partizans’ and at the same time intimidated the remaining rural population, forcing them to join the collective farms.

North Pier and Battery No.3 in Karosta

The longest pier in Latvia - the Northern Pier - was built at the end of the 19th century as a very important part of the Liepaja Sea Fortress and military port. The length of the pier is 1800 metres, the width - 7.35 metres.

The Northern Pier is one of the first port structures of Emperor Alexander III, built between 1890 and 1892 before the excavation of the Karosta Canal. Together with the North Breakwater, the South Breakwater and the South Pier, the pier formed the outpost of Liepaja.

Liepaja Fortress Battery No 3 was located next to the North Pier of the Karosta and was planned to be the largest in terms of armament. Platforms were built for four 6-inch (152 mm) guns of the 1892 model of the Canet system, five 11-inch (280 mm) guns of the 1887 model and two 57 mm Nordenfeld anti-tank guns, as well as 18 9-inch (229 mm) guns and mortars.

Today, Battery 3 is most affected by the prevailing south-north sea current, which creates a whirlpool effect behind the North Pier, resulting in the washouts of the gun platform foundations.

The North Pier protects the Liepaja harbour area from North Westerly winds. It is a favourite place for residents and visitors to Liepaja to watch sunsets, fish and watch the sea in different weather conditions. Especially spectacular during storms.

There is ample parking at the North Pier. There are also restrooms and a café with a unique sea view.

Boat trip in Ciecere lake by the boat “Zezer”

During the ride with the recreational boat “Zezer” along Lake Ciecere near Brocēni you can listen to the audio guide and captain's stories about Lake Ciecere and the city of Brocēni on its shores, World War II events near Lake Ciecere, trenches on both sides of the lake and the Oak Island, as well as the tank route running along an observation tower and the tank that is said to be sunk in the lake. The audio guide is available in Latvian, Lithuanian, English, and Russian languages. The ride takes 1 hour 15 min.

Karosta Military Prison

The Karosta Prison in Liepāja is the only military prison in Europe open to tourists. Constructed around 1900 for the needs of a hospital, the building was never used for its original purpose. The structure was repurposed as a place for serving temporary disciplinary punishment and was used as such up until 1997.

Powers changed but the purpose of the institution remained the same, namely, to house prisoners, including revolutionaries, sailors and non-commissioned officers of the Russian tsarist army, German deserters, enemies of the people of the Stalin era, as well as soldiers of the Soviet and Latvian armies. The Karosta Prison is currently open to visitors and guided tours are available. The tours show the prison and visitors can learn about its history, have a look at the prison and punishment cells and hear interesting and even ghostly tales about life at the prison. Braver souls have the opportunity to play the ‘Behind the Bars’ reality game or try to get out of closed rooms. And those who know no fear can spend the night in a prison cell. The Karosta Prison has a Karosta Visitor Centre, a Soviet-era buffet and a souvenir shop. The services of a guide are available throughout the whole of Karosta.

Private collection of military objects and sewing machines

The only sewing machine collection in Latvia with more than 200 different sewing machines from the pre-war and Soviet periods, which played a direct role in the production of military clothing in the pre-war and war years. Collection creator - Juris Beloivans

Soviet soldiers' cemetery "Tuški"

The fraternal cemetery of the Red Army 130th Latvian and 8th Estonian Rifle Corps soldiers is located about 350 metres south-west of the Blīdene-Remte road. The name derives from the farm Tušķi, which was located 400 m south of the cemetery.

On 17 March 1945, the last attempt of the Red Army in Kurzeme began. The 308th Latvian Rifle Division attacked south-west and west of the Tušķi homestead and during three days of fighting crossed the Blīdene-Remte road in the 142.2 area of the highlands and reached the Jaunāsmuižas-Mezmali line. The soldiers killed during the battles were buried in several small cemeteries near Ķēķiai, Vērotāji, Jaunāsmuiža and elsewhere.

In the late 1960s, when the Soviet Union began to commemorate the Second World War, a new cemetery was established north of the ruins of the Tušķu homestead, where it was planned to rebury all the soldiers who had fallen in the Pilsblidene and Kaulači area. In reality, the reburial was partial, as very often the fallen soldiers remained in their original gravesites, but only their names were overwritten in the cemetery of the Tuški brothers. The names of the soldiers of the 8th Estonian Rifle Corps, whose main wartime cemetery was located on the site of the present Pilsblidene cemetery, can also be found in the Tuški Brethren Cemetery.

There is also a monument to Jakob Kundera, a soldier of the 8th Estonian Rifle Corps, to whom the object 'Kundera dots' is dedicated. Immediately after the battle, Jakob Kundera was buried in what is now Pilsblidene Cemetery, and later reburied in the Tuški Brethren Cemetery.

Ekspozīcija "Cīņas par brīvību 20. gadsimtā" Jēkabpils Vēstures muzejā

Atrodas Krustpils pilī

Apskatāma ekspozīcija "Cīņas par brīvību 20. gadsimtā"
Padomju represijas. Smagas atmiņas. Te sēžot klubkrēslā, iespēja klausīties jēkabpilieša Ilmāra Knaģa grāmatas “Bij tādi laiki” fragmentus. Uz vienas no telpas sienām bezkaislīgi, kā titri pēc kinofilmas slīd uz Sibīriju izvesto pilsētnieku saraksts. Turpat vecajā televizorā var noskatīties amatiervideo par Ļeņina pieminekļa noņemšanu Jēkabpilī.  Apmeklētājos interesi izraisa ne tikai saturs, bet arī tehniskās iespējas - kā šī filma tikusi vecajā televizorā.

Iespējams noklausīties muzeja speciālistu sagatavotās lekcijas Jēkabpils Vēstures muzejā vai pieteikt izbraukumu: Jēkabpils un tās apkārtne Pirmajā pasaules karā, Jēkabpils 1990. gadā, Barikāžu laiks, 1949. gada deportācijām - 70, Jēkabpilieši Lāčplēša Kara ordeņa kavalieri u.c.
Lekciju vidējais ilgums 40 min. Informācija un lekciju pieteikšana zvanot uz tālruni 65221042, 27008136.

Informācija par cenām

Jēkabpils vēstures muzejs atrodas Krustpils pilī. 1940. gadā pēc Latvijas iekļaušanas PSRS sastāvā Krustpils pilī izvietojās 126. strēlnieku divīzija. Otrā Pasaules kara laikā pilī atradās vācu lazarete, bet pēc 1944. gada augusta Sarkanarmijas kara hospitālis. Pēc kara Krustpils pili ar pieguļošajām muižas ēkām aizņēma Padomju armijas 16. tāllidojuma izlūkošanas aviācijas pulka un 15. gaisa armijas centrālās noliktavas. 

Vaiņode air base

Vaiņode airfield still has 16 Soviet-era aircraft hangars and an 1800 m section of the once 2500 m long runway. The airfield can only be visited with a previous booking. Vaiņode airfield was established during the Latvian independence as one of the cradles of Latvian aviation and was later one of the largest military airfields in the Baltic States. In 1916, two hangars for German Army airships were built. Airships were used to gather intelligence and bomb the positions of the Russian Army. Later the city of Riga bought the airship hangars and used their roof structures to build the pavilions of the Riga Central Market. In May 1940, the 31st Fast Bomber Aviation Regiment of the Red Army moved to Vaiņode, and the construction of a standardized concrete slab runway began. At the end of the summer of 1944 the partially completed airfield was used by various German aviation units, however, at the end of World War II, the same airfield was used by the Red Army aviation units fighting the German Army group called ‘Kurzeme’. After World War II the Soviet Air Forces were stationed in Vaiņode until 1992.

Pilsblidene Manor

The manor house was built in the classical style in the 1920s of the 19th century. After the land reform, the manor complex was rented out to private individuals, but from 1932 it passed to the Ministry of People's Welfare.

6. During the fierce battles of the Great Battle of Courland it was used both as a support post and as an infirmary. 

On 17 March 1945, the last attempt of the Red Army to attack Courland began. Units of the German 24th Infantry Division defended themselves in the vicinity of the Pilsblidene Manor complex. On 18 March 1945, the manor house was attacked from the south by the 121st Rifle Regiment of the Latvian Rifle Division of the 43rd Guards, which was unsuccessful. The 1st Battalion of the 300th Rifle Regiment of the 7th Estonian Rifle Division attacked from the west, and at the end of the day the 35th Tank Brigade of the 3rd Guards Mechanised Corps joined the 1st Battalion of the 917th Rifle Regiment of the 249th Estonian Rifle Division on the Blīdene-Remte road.

On the night of 19 March, the 43rd Grenadier Regiment of the 19th Latvian SS Grenadier Division arrived in the vicinity of Blīdene Station and counter-attacked to retake the Pilsblīdene Manor residential building. However, as a result of a night tank attack, Estonian and Latvian units of the Red Army gained a foothold at the station.

In 1959, a fire broke out in the castle. From 1961 to 1986, a retirement home operated in the residential building. In 1986, the castle was again destroyed by fire. Since then, the castle has stood empty and ruined.

A 24-hectare park surrounds the manor house, which is now overgrown. The park has about 37 plantations of non-native species of trees and shrubs and is under state protection. The park is unmaintained and the surroundings are overgrown.

Priekule Memorial Ensemble of Warrior’s Cemetery

The Priekule Memorial Ensemble of Warrior’s Cemetery is on the Liepāja-Priekule-Skoda road and is the largest burial site of Soviet soldiers of World War II in the Baltics. More than 23,000 Soviet soldiers are buried here. Operation Priekule was one of the fiercest battles in Kurzeme Fortress that took place from October 1944 to 21 February 1945. The Battle of Priekule in February 1945 lasted seven days and nights without interruption and had a lot of casualties on both sides. Until Priekule Warrior’s Cemetery was transformed into a memorial, the last monument of the outstanding Latvian sculptor K. Zāle (1888-1942) was located here to commemorate the independence battles in Aloja. Between 1974 and 1984, the 8 ha Priekule Warrior’s Cemetery was transformed into a memorial ensemble dedicated to those who fell in World War II. It was designed by the sculptor P. Zaļkalne, architects A. Zoldners and E. Salguss, and the dendrologist A. Lasis.

The centre of the memorial holds a 12 m tall statue called the ‘Motherland’, and names of the fallen are engraved on granite slabs. Until Latvia regained its independence, the Victory Day was widely celebrated every year on May 9.

Barn of Nygrande Manor

The Nīgrande Local History Repository is located in the Nīgrande village in the manor barn, next to the Nīgrande Primary School, and is accessible by appointment.

The military history section of the repository includes an exhibition on World War II and original objects and parts found in the area after the war and in later years. You can also find out stories and see photographs about Nygrande and its surroundings from the War of Independence, World War II and the post-war period, as well as life on the collective farm in Soviet times. 

The exhibition has a special place for the local writer Jēkab Janševskis and his works, and there is an exhibition presenting traditional manor house life and furnishings. A mammoth tusk found in Nīgrande is also on display in the barn of Nīgrande Manor.

Īle National Partisans’ Bunker

The bunker is located in Zebrene municipality, less than 1km from the P104 Biksti - Auce road. 

The largest bunker in the Baltic States was built in 1948 in the forests of Īle by the partisans of the united Latvian-Lithuanian group to continue their fight against the Soviets. The 27-strong group was led by the young commander Kārlis Krauja (real name Visvaldis Brizga).

On 17 March 1949, the 24 partisans, who were in a bunker at the time, fought their last battle against the 760-strong force of the Ministry of State Security, or Cheka. 15 guerrillas were killed, nine were captured and deported to Siberia with their supporters.
 
In 1992, the Home Guards, together with the Daugava Hawks and representatives of patriotic organisations, dug up the bunker, collected the bones of the fallen fighters and buried them in the Virki Cemetery in Dobele. A White Cross, a memorial stone and a granite stele were erected at the bunker.
 
In the mid-1990s, the outline of the bunker was already traced and reinforced with internal walls, but it was not until the 60th anniversary of the battle that the bunker was rebuilt exactly as it was before it was blown up. Many supporters and volunteers helped to make it happen.
 
Inside the bunker you can see a stove, a table and narrow benches on which the partisans slept. There are information boards, memorial stones with the names of the partisans and their supporters. 

There is a resting place and a toilet. 

Skrunda Manor and exposition of Skrunda locator

Skrunda manor has an exhibit about the Skrunda radar (Skrunda radio location station) and the activities of the Latvian Popular Front in Skrunda. The Skrunda radio location station nicknamed ‘Kombināts’ (The Plant) was a USSR missile early warning system in the western sector. Location ‘Skrunda-2’ was a special town (в/ч 18951) created 5 km from Skrunda in the direction of Kuldīga for the needs of the USSR military. The radar station Dņepr operated from here and a new, more modern station Darjal was being built. Construction was stopped and the radar station Darjal was blown up on 4 May 1995. In compliance with an international agreement the radar station Dnieper was shut down on 31 August 1998.

Mērsrags lighthouse and former border guard

Mērsrags Lighthouse is located in the Mērsrags village, about 1 km north of the village centre. The lighthouse was put into commission in 1875. It is an 18.5 m tall freestanding, cylindrical, riveted iron tower, the lower part of which has been fortified with reinforced concrete counterforts. The height of the signal light is 21.3 m. At the top all around the tower there is an iron balcony supported by consoles. The lighthouse tower was made by Sotera, Lemonier & Co in Paris, so this lighthouse is commonly known as the ‘Frenchie’. At the end of 1944, the 1003rd Artillery Division Battery of the German Army with 60 cm spotlights was located right next to the lighthouse. In May 1945, the Nazi Germany high command planned to move the 15th Latvian SS Grenadier Division to the area, but these plans failed, because Latvian soldiers surrendered to the Western Allies. Near the Mērsrags Lighthouse there are still remains of a building where during the USSR times Soviet border guards had a large, extendable spotlight for illuminating the sea. There is a bird-watching tower next to the lighthouse. Tours need to be booked beforehand by contacting the Mērsrags Tourism Information Centre.

Mazirbe border guard tower

The Soviet border defence post was located in the building that used to be a maritime school, and next to it is a well-preserved Soviet border guard watchtower. The second watchtower is located right on the shore next to a parking lot. These watchtowers are a reminder of the Soviet occupation and the times when Mazirbe was a closed border area and civilians were allowed on the shore only in specially designated places and only during the daytime. This border guard watchtower is one of the best-preserved objects of its type on the coast of Latvia. However, it designated is dangerous to climb it.

Mazirbe Nautical School

The Soviet Border Guard Tower in this complex is one of the best preserved of its kind on the Latvian coast. Unfortunately, the condition of the buildings is poor, there is a rifle loading/unloading site on the site, and a drive and fragments of trenches have been salvaged. 

The Coast Guard post was located in the former Marine School building. In the post-Soviet period, accommodation was offered in parts of the buildings.

The second tower of the Soviet Border Guard is located about 400 m from the beach, but unfortunately it is in a state of disrepair. However, the Mazirbe boat cemetery is located not more than 500 m from the beach tower towards Sīkrags.

Liepaja Coast Defence Battery 23

The battery is located between Tobago and Marine Streets, seawards.

According to the "base agreement" between the Republic of Latvia and the USSR, signed on 5 October 1939, a contingent of nearly 25 000 Red Army and Baltic Navy troops was to be stationed in Kurzeme. By March 1941, Baltic naval bases were established in Latvia in the defence sectors of Irbe Bay, Saaremaa and Liepaja, consisting of coastal defence batteries.

The Liepaja coastal defence sector included the 208th artillery division with two 130 mm B-13 gun batteries (No 23 and No 27) and one 180 mm rail gun battery. Construction of Battery 23 began in November 1939 and was completed on 17 May 1941, partly using the reinforced concrete fortifications of Battery No. 2 of Liepaja Fortress. Battery 23 consisted of four reinforced concrete gun positions on the seafront, a command post and an observation (range-finding) tower in the dune forest. The range-finding positions were located in reinforced concrete towers to ensure better visibility while maintaining concealment in the pine forest.

Gun positions 1 and 2 are located on the seafront and partially eroded, while gun position 4 is the most visible in the dunes. Battery 23 was blown up by Soviet soldiers on 27 June 1941 during the retreat from Liepāja.

After the Second World War, Battery 23 was renamed Battery 636, armed with the same 130 mm B-13 guns, but a new range-keeping tower was built in 1954 for fire control, adjacent to the 1941 tower. In 1963, all the Liepaja coastal defence guns were dismantled.

After the restoration of Latvia's independence, the area of Battery No 2 is in the use of the Ministry of Defence.

The two towers are located very close to each other - only 10 m apart. The four gun positions were located to the right of both towers, actually on the seafront. The reinforced concrete bunker of the personnel who manned the guns is now washed away by the waves and has a washed-out foundation, tilted and leaning seawards.

Seda cultural heritage (1953-1990) exposition and Stalinist architecture

The town of Seda was originally built as a workers’ village, together with the construction of a peat factory in 1953. The peat factory was declared part of the All-Union Komsomol Shock Construction Project, with young people from all over the Soviet Union coming here. This defined the character and face of the village. In 1954, Seda was granted workers’ village rights. In 1961, the workers’ village was named a township. On 14 November 1991, the township with a rural area acquired the status of the town of Seda with a rural area. An exhibit of cultural and historical heritage is on display at the Seda Culture House. The panels in the exhibition hall showcase the history of development of the Seda area, starting from the historical period when the Salānieši farm property extended across the territory of the town of Seda to the construction of the town. The exhibit features stories about the reasons for and process of the creation of the town, the history of the Seda Peat Factory and other documentary evidence. In terms of core content, the exhibit mainly includes historical archive materials: protocols, decisions and orders. To help visitors gain a better sense of this period of history, the exhibit includes a ‘manager’s office’ featuring items from that time. The exhibit is also visually enhanced by Soviet-era household items that are on display in addition to different documentary evidence.

Tirzas pagasta novadpētniecības krātuves PSRS perioda vēstures liecību ekspozīcija

Kādreizējā kolhoza dispečeru telpā izvietotā ekspozīcija atklāta 2005.gadā. Apmeklētājiem tiek piedāvāts izjust PSRS laika gaisotni interaktīvās nodarbībās: diskutējot par padomju laika periodu, veidojot leģendas par vēstures liecībām, piedaloties kora dziedāšanā, dejojot “letkisu”, taisot papīra lidmašīnas un hlapuškas, tādējādi izdzīvojot starpbrīdi skolā, kā arī baudot ķilavu maizītes un liepziedu tēju.

Stāstījumi un vēstures liecības par tradīcijām, senajiem amatiem un izciliem novadniekiem.

Apmeklējumu lūgums iepriekš pieteikt!

Pieaugušajiem: 2,00 Eur
Skolēniem, pensionāriem: 1,00 Eur
Ekskursija gida pavadībā līdz 6 personām (1-1,5 stundai): 6,00 Eur
Ekskursijas gida pavadībā vairāk par 6 personām (1-1,5 stundai): 1,00 Eur no personas

Betona pievedceļš no Mārcienas uz Gaiziņkalnu caur Bērzauni

Atrodas Madonas novadā, Bērzaunē, Bērzaunes pagastā.

Betona ceļš bija paredzēts kodolraķešu pārvietošanai no militārās bāzes Mārcienā uz Gaiziņkalnu. Parastie ceļi neturēja lielo raķešu svaru, bija nepieciešams īpašāks segums to pārvietošanai

Līdz mūsdienām saglabājies iesākts betona ceļš (ar pārrāvumiem) Mārcienā un Bērzaunes pagastā.

2. Pasaules kara vācu armijas bunkurs

Atradās netālu no mājām "Brankšās" uz labību lauka.

2021.gada 2.septembrī Saulkrastu novada vēstures entuziasta Andra Grabčika vadībā, saskaņojot ar lauksaimniecības zemes nomnieci Inesi Karlovu, notika II pasaules kara Siguldas aizsardzības līnijas vācu armijas bunkura atrakšanas darbi.

"77 gadi pagājuši kopš bunkurs tika izbūvēts, piedzīvojis gan Padomju armijas uzbrukumu, gan lauksaimniecības tehnikas braukšanu tam pāri. Tikai 3 gadus atpakaļ daļēji padevās smagajai tehnikai. Lai grīda nebūtu ūdenī, bija izstrādāta meliorācijas sistēma ar ūdens krātuves rezervuāru pie ieejas, kuru vajadzības gadījumā izsmēla. Bunkura grīda ir no apaļbaļķiem 10 cm diametrā un tika noklāta ar salmiem. Šis bunkurs nav no lielajiem, bet pilnīgi pietiekams aptuveni 6 cilvēkiem. Šis bunkurs nav vienīgais šajā rajonā, bet viens no retajiem, kas labi saglabājies." - tā stāsta Andris Grabčiks par bunkuru.

Pēc informācijas publicēšanas internet, no vēsturnieka un Saulkrastu velosipēdu muzeja īpašnieka Jāņa Seregina tika saņemtas 2 ieskanētas vēsturiskas fotogrāfijas ar uzrakstu "29.08.44, Saulkrasti, Vidrižu pagasts" un komentāru: “Fotogrāfijas iegūtas no vienas saulkrastietes, kura tagad ir jau mirusi. Pēc viņas stāstītā, Saulkrastos bija apmetušies bēgļi no Pleskavas un Ļeņingradas apgabala, kurus vācieši bija atkāpjoties izdzinuši no mājām. Viņus nodarbināja ierakumu rakšanā aizsardzības līnijā pie Ķīšupes. Vienā no bildēm ir redzami cilvēki meža darbos. Tādā veidā tika iegūti baļķi, kurus mēs tagad varam redzēt bunkurā pie Brankšām. Otrā bildē ir redzams kā viņus baro pie mājām iekārtotā sadales punktā vai virtuvē. Domāju, ka tās ir Brankšu dzirnavas.” 

Bunkurs saglabājies no WWII uz Siguldas aizsardzības līnijas.
Pirmo rezi bunkura vieta tika apsekota 2021.gada aprīlī, bet augstā grundsūdens dēļ, atrakšanas darbi nevarēja notikt.

Bunkurs atrodās uz lauksaimniecības zemes un pēc atrakšanas un izpētes, tika aizbērts, lai netraucētu lauksaimniecības darbus.

Red Army prisoner filtration camp in Grieze and Grieze Church

Grieze is located at the Latvian-Lithuanian border, where the Vadakste River flows into the Venta River. The Grieze church was built in 1580, but the parish existed before 1567. The church was rebuilt several times - in 1769, in 1845 and in 1773 the first organ was installed. Both the altarpiece and the two bells have been lost for various reasons.

In the church garden there is a cemetery where people belonging to the church and noblemen are buried. One of them is Grieze organist Friedrich Baris and his wife Charlotte, who have a monument erected in front of the church sacristy. On the south side of the church, 32 Swedish soldiers who died in the Great Northern War are buried. The cemetery also contains the graves of 110 German soldiers who died in the First World War, for whom a monument was erected in 1930.

During the Second World War, the church suffered when the front line was stretched along the Venta River in late October 1944 and the German 225th Infantry Division was stationed in the vicinity of Grieze Church. When the Soviet 4th Shock Army launched attacks across the Venta River on 19 November 1944, several artillery shells hit the south wall of the church and the church tower was badly damaged.

After the surrender of Army Group Kurzeme, the Red Army's Leningrad Front accounted for 284 171 people taken prisoner. 7493 were Red Army soldiers released from German captivity. 48 German generals surrendered to captivity. According to the documents submitted at the time of the surrender of Army Group Kurzeme, the number of soldiers was about 185 000. The rest of the nearly 100 000 people subjected to filtration were Kurzeme civilians and Soviet refugees, as the Soviet Leningrad Front ordered on 10 May 1945 that all men between the ages of 16 and 60 be subjected to filtration.

In the Red Army, unlike the armed forces of other countries, the screening, guarding, maintenance and protection of prisoners of war was carried out not by army units, but by the internal affairs bodies - the People's Commissariat for State Security. The main task of the filtration was to detect citizens of the USSR and Soviet-occupied countries who had taken part in the hostilities on the German side. Captured German soldiers were examined in order to detect possible perpetrators of war crimes.

A prisoner-of-war filtration camp was located in the vicinity of the Grieze Church from 10 May to 17 June 1945. The camp was probably located here because the Grieze Church was close to the main roads. The pits in the ground where the prisoners hid from the cold on cold nights by covering themselves with whatever was available are still clearly visible in the surrounding area. During this period, the Red Army caused considerable damage to the interior of the church (all the pews were removed - "for the war effort", the pulpit was damaged, the organ was destroyed, etc.). A laundry was set up in the church building itself.

The last service in the church was in 1950 and the congregation ceased to exist. After the dissolution of the congregation, also later under the supervision of the Latvian Society for the Protection of Nature and Monuments, the church was not repaired. However, the building stood under roof until the 1960s-1970s. The church was damaged during the storm of 1961 and in 1968 the remaining interior elements were rescued by the Rundāle Palace staff.

Since 2003, a group of like-minded people from Riga parishes have been involved in the clean-up and restoration of the church. To date, the church walls have been conserved and the tower has been restored.
 

Memorial ensemble for the deportees "The Way of the Cross"

The memorial ensemble is located at Skolas Street and St Agathe of the Mountains Roman Catholic Church.

The memorial ensemble consists of four stylised carriages, each for a different time of deportation. The roofs of the wagons symbolise houses. In the middle of the ensemble are an altar and a cross. The monument is different from the others because it reminds us that Latvian citizens were deported not only on 14 June 1941 and 25 March 1949. There were deportations between these dates as well. The monument has been designed in such a way that the list of names engraved on it can be expanded as research continues.

The memorial ensemble was designed by local artist and local historian Maija Eņģele

Liepaja Fortress Middle Fort and Monument to the Soldiers of the Red Army

The most dangerous direction of attack for the port of Emperor Alexander III was from the east between the lakes of Tosmare and Liepāja, where there was a 2.5 km wide strait of land. Three fortifications were built to defend the land strip. On the southern shore of Lake Tosmare there was a left redoubt, on the northern shore of Lake Liepāja a right redoubt, and between the redoubts there was a Middle Fort. The Middle Fort was the most serious fortification of the Liepaja Fortress, but it was not fully completed and artillery was not deployed until 1908.

It was at the Middle Fort that the most serious battles took place in April 1915, when German troops attacked, in November 1919 during the Latvian Army's battles against the West Russian Liberation Army, and in June 1941, when Liepāja was attacked by the 291st Infantry Division of the German Armored Forces.

In June 1941, when hostilities between Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union broke out, the Liepaja garrison of the Soviet Army consisted of units of the Liepaja naval base of the Navy and the Red Army. The Liepaja naval base consisted of mine trawler, torpedo boat and submarine divisions, including former Latvian Navy ships and submarines. The coastal defence was carried out by the 23rd and 27th artillery batteries with 130 mm guns and the 18th railway artillery battery with 180 mm guns, covered by two Zenith artillery divisions. The base also included several sapper, repair, liaison and training units, totalling some 4 000 soldiers, commanded by Captain M. Klevenski, 1st rank. Of the Red Army units, the garrison was manned by the 67th Rifle Division (minus the 114th Rifle Regiment and one artillery division), commanded by Major-General N. Dedaev. The division had about 9000 soldiers before the outbreak of hostilities. The 143rd Fighter Aviation Regiment with 68 aircraft of various types was stationed at Liepāja airfield. In addition, the 12th Border Guard Unit operated in the Liepāja area.

The battle action at the Liepaja Fortress began in the early morning of 24 June 1941. Despite the Soviet losses, the German units were unable to break through the Liepaja Fortress rampart on 25 June. The fighting in Liepāja ended on 27 and 28 June, when Soviet units tried to break northwards.
 

Liepaja Museum exhibition "Liepaja under the occupation regimes"

The Liepāja Museum exhibition "Liepāja under the occupation regimes" is located in Liepāja, 7/9 Klāva Ukstiņa Street.

The exhibition covers the period from 1939 to 1991 during the double Soviet and German occupation. The inhabitants of Liepāja were among the first in Latvia to experience the outbreak of the Second World War and among the last for whom the war ended both literally and symbolically.

It was not until the collapse of the USSR in the late 1980s that the opportunity arose to restore Latvia's independence. The Latvian People's Front played a major role in this process, and its exhibition, opened on 21 January 2001, is housed in the former headquarters of the Liepāja City Branch. The Liepāja branch of the Popular Front was the second largest after the Riga branch, with 13 000 members. It was from here that buses of volunteers were organised during the barricades in January 1991 to go and defend the sites in Riga. On 23 August 1991, the day of the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact, the Lenin Monument, a symbol of Soviet power in the city, was dismantled. In later years, 500 bronze bells were made from it in Germany - souvenirs of a bygone era. One of these bells is also on display.

World War II and the Soviet occupation of Liepāja ended only in 1994, when the last troops of the USSR's heir, Russia, left the city.

The museum regularly organises thematic exhibitions of its collection and artworks, as well as lectures and meetings with historians and eyewitnesses of recent Latvian history. The museum building is currently being renovated and the exhibition is being renewed.

Vācu armijas krasta apsardzības prožektora vieta Ušos un robežapsardzības postenis Kolkā

No military infrastructure was planned in Cape Kolka, except for several offshore lighthouses that were rebuilt over a long period of time, either before World War I, during World War I or during World War II. Coastal defence batteries were planned for the narrowest part of the Irbe Strait, between the Sirves Peninsula and the Michael Tower Lighthouse.

The only fortifications of a military nature appeared at the end of 1944, when the German Army Group North was preparing to repel possible landings by the Soviet Baltic Fleet. In the spring of 1945, after the ice retreated, two batteries of the 532nd Artillery Division defended the coast at Cape Kolka. Battery 7 with four 75 mm guns and three 20 mm zenith guns. Battery 8 with four 88 mm mortars, three 20 mm mortars and an 81 mm mortar. The anti-deserter infantry garrison consisted of one of the most famous coastal defence units of the German Navy, the 5th Company of the 531st Artillery Division. Although it was an artillery unit by name, it was an infantry unit by deployment, which started its war in June 1941 at Liepāja. The unit was then garrisoned on islands in the Gulf of Finland and later took part in the fighting on the island of Saaremaa. The remnants of the division were reformed into one company and, reinforced with seven anti-tank guns and three 20 mm anti-aircraft guns, deployed at Cape Kolka.

The Soviet naval landing operation never took place and the German units capitulated in May 1945.

The military infrastructure in Cape Kolka began to be built after the Second World War, when Soviet border guard posts were deployed here and Kolka, like the entire Kurzeme coast from Mērsrags to the Lithuanian border, became a closed zone

German Army concrete tower (by the beach)

Walking along the slope of Mount Odju for 200 m along the path, you can see several objects related to the First World War - old concrete foundations of cannons from. An unfinished concrete observation tower stands next to the beach, parallel to the forest path along the Rojas Trail. The exact use of this object is unknown. Below the base, niches have been built for ammunition. Deep pits, former dugouts, are also visible among the pines.

Some of the objects probably date back to the end of the Second World War, when German coastal defence batteries were stationed in the area. The 4th Battery, 532nd Artillery Division, Navy, was armed with four 88 mm guns, three 37 mm guns, one 20 mm four-barrelled gun and one 50 mm mortar for illumination at night. Two 45 mm anti-tank guns are deployed at the mouth of the Rojas. The town garrison consisted of units of the 64th and 109th Sapper Battalions.

Ruins of Ķērkliņu church

The ruins of the Ķerkliņu Church are located about 5 kilometres north-west of Kokmuiža, near the Ķerkliņu Lake. The church was built in 1641 by Heinrich von Dönhoff (Derkarth), the owner of the Ķerkliņi manor. The original wooden church was replaced by a stone building, under which tombs were built for the dead of the Dönhof and later Kleist families. The tombs were already destroyed during the 1905 riots, but in 1949 the coffins were moved from the tombs to the church. The church was an example of the Kurzeme Baroque style - its carvings were made by the Kuldīga - Liepāja woodcarvers. Although the owners of the manor and the church were at various times plagued by financial problems, the church underwent several reconstructions during its existence. It also suffered during the First World War, after which the parish rebuilt the stonework in 1929 and added an organ in 1934. Unfortunately, the church was damaged during the Second World War and much of it was lost, so it is to be commended that before the church was rebuilt in 1933, many unique pieces of Baroque sculpture were photographed, inventoried and even ended up in the archives of the Monuments Board. With the establishment of the landfill and the eviction of the inhabitants, the church was never restored. Today, the church walls and tower are visible.

Piemineklis par Latvijas brīvību kritušajiem Gulbenes draudzes varoņiem

Atrodas Gulbenes vēsturiskajā centrā pretim Gulbenes Evaņģēliski luteriskajai baznīcai.

Piemineklis 1905. gada nemieru upuriem, Pirmajā pasaules karā un Latvijas Brīvības cīņās kritušajiem Gulbenes draudzes locekļiem un Malienas tribunāla upuriem. Piemineklis veidots pēc E. Ābeltiņa meta, atklāts 1929. gadā pretī Gulbenes evaņģēliski luteriskajai baznīcai. Pēc Otrā pasaules kara piemineklim uzlikta piecstaru zvaigzne, tad - uz tā pamatiem - bronzas krāsā krāsots ģipša padomju karavīra tēls, bet aiz pieminekļa ierīkoti kritušo padomju karavīru kapi. Kad 1969.gadā Spārītes parkā tika atklāti jaunie Otrajā pasaules karā kritušo padomju karavīru kapi, kritušo mirstīgās atliekas pārveda tur, bet pieminekļa vietu nolīdzināja līdz ar zemi. 1989.gada rudenī tika atrakti pieminekļa pamati un izcelta 1928.gadā tajos iemūrētā kapsula ar tekstu. Piemineklis atjaunots 1992. gadā (tēlnieks O. Feldbergs).

Laikā no 1918.gada 24.decembra līdz 1919.gada 31.maijam, kad 1.(4.) Valmieras kājnieku pulks atbrīvoja Gulbeni no lieliniekiem, baznīcā atradās Malienas (Vecgulbenes) revolucionārais kara tribunāls un strādnieku klubs. Tā darbība izcēlās ar pieņemto lēmumu bardzību un nāves sodu lielo daudzumu, bieži vien par niecīgiem pārkāpumiem - tika uzsākta 349 lietu izmeklēšana, tajās apvainotas 606 personas.

Redzama piemiņas skulptūra.

Sarkanarmiešu kapi

Atrodas Parka ielā 1B, Lubānā, Madonas novadā.

Piemiņas vieta 2. pasaules karā kritušajiem Sarkanās armijas karavīriem

Par sākotnējās Sarkanās armijas karavīru apbedījumu vietu 1944.gadā tika noteikts pats Lubānas pilsētas centrs - Oskara Kalpaka ielas, Tilta ielas un Baznīcas ielas krustojums. Vēlāk- 1961.gadā, kad satiksme ne tikai pilsētā, bet arī tās tuvākajā apkārtnē kļuva intensīvāka, apbedījumi tika pārcelti, pārapbedījot kritušo mirstīgās atliekas netālu no Aiviekstes upes (tagadējās Stacijas ielas un Parka ielas krustojums, Aiviekstes virzienā). Kopā šajā vietā apbedīti 450 Sarkanās armijas karavīri, pieminekļa daļā atrodas plāksnes ar šajā apbedījuma vietā apglabāto Sarkanās armijas karavīru vārdiem

Piemineklis kaujas vietai - Aiviekstes forsēšanai

Atrodas Aiviekstes krastā, pie ceļa Madona – Varakļāni, Barkavas pagastā, Madonas novadā.

Piemiņas zīme Aiviekstes forsēšanai. Atklāta 1964.g. 12. augustā

1944.g. padomju armijas 341. gvardes strēlnieku pulks forsēja Aivieksti.

Viens no 2. Baltijas frontes uzbrukuma plāniem 1944. gada augusta sākumā saucās “Sagrāve” (Razgrom), un tas paredzēja apmēram 10 dienās no Lubānas apkārtnes nonākt Rīgā. Šīs bija savdabīgas ugunskristības arī 130. latviešu strēlnieku korpusam, kas pirmoreiz Latvijas teritorijā pilnā sastāvā 1944. gada 2. – 6. augustā devās uzbrukuma kaujā ziemeļaustrumos no Steķiem, Medņu – Antužu virzienā un sasniedza Aiviekstes kreiso krastu. 1944. gada 7. un 8. augustā 130. latviešu strēlnieku korpusa vienības sekmīgi piedalījās padomju 22. armijas uzbrukumā Krustpilij. Pēc Krustpils ieņemšanas 130. korpusa apakšvienības 10. augustā forsēja Aivieksti un izveidoja placdarmu upes labajā krastā.

Video, kurā var redzēt epizodi no Aiviekstes forsēšanas.

Barkavas Brāļu kapi

Atrodas Starp Brīvības un Parka ielu, Netālu no Barkavas kultūras nama, Barkavas pagastā, Madonas novadā.

Piemiņas vieta 2. pasaules karā kritušajiem strādnieku - zemnieku Sarkanās (Padomju) armijas karavīriem. Apbedīti: 1980. g. - 659 (visi zināmi un atzīmēti); 1984. g. - 667 (zināmi un atzīmēti 661) karavīri. 

Krievijas Federācijas vēstniecība sadarbībā ar Madonas novada pašvaldību veikusi un veiks vairākus padomju armijas karavīru Brāļu kapu rekonstrukcijas darbus Madonas novadā, tai skaitā arī Barkavas pagastā.

Madonas Brāļu kapi

Brāļu kapi Madonā atrodas Parka kalna pie Pumpuru ielas. No Pumpuru ielas uz kapiem ved betona kāpnes, bet no Parka ielas - celiņš.

Piemineklis tika atklāts 1947.g.
Brāļu kapos apbedīti vairāki tūkstoši kritušo padomju armijas karavīru. Nav saglabājies obelisks, kas atradās uz uzkalniņa.
Krievijas Federācija ir apkopojusi un precizējusi informāciju par karavīru, kas atdusas šajos kapos, vārdiem un uzvārdiem un 2021.gadā pabeigta kapu rekonstrukcija. Rekonstrukcijas laikā kritušo kareivju vārdi no jauna tika iekalti marmora plāksnēs, kuras izvietotas memoriālajās sienās.

Apbedīti: 1959. g. - 46; 1980. g. - 3941 (visi zināmi un atzīmēti); 1984. g. - 3979 (zināmi un atzīmēti 3943) karavīri, 1 partizānis, 2 padomju aktīvisti. PSV: M.A. Ivasiks (1919 -1944).

Otrā pasaules karā kritušo sarkanarmiešu karavīru piemiņas vieta

Atrodas Varakļānos, Rīgas un Lubānas ielu krustojumā.

Apskatāma Otrā pasaules karā kritušo karavīru piemiņas vieta, kura ierīkota izpostot vecos katoļu kapus.
Apbedīti: 1959. g. - 204; 1980. - g. 710 (visi zināmi un atzīmēti) un 4 Neatkarības karā (1919. g.) kritušie SA karavīri; 1984. g. - 722 (zināmi un atzīmēti 715) karavīri.

Atrodas līdzās Varakļānu Romas katoļu draudzes baznīcai, kura Otrā pasaules kara laikā pārcieta dažādas grūtības, postījumus – ērģeļu zudumu, zvanu noņemšanu no torņiem u.c. Baznīcas apskate (gida pavadībā) iekļauta tūrisma takā “Dvēseļu ceļi”. Pieteikties pa tālr. 29359242 vai 64866164.

Piemineklis “Kritušiem par Tēviju 1918. – 1920.”

Atrodas Rīgas ielas malā, iepretim Krustpils pilij.

Jēkabpilī, Daugavas labajā krastā esošā pieminekļa “Kritušiem par Tēviju 1918. – 1920” , priekšlikumu par pieminekļa celšanu karavīriem kritušiem Brīvības cīņas, izteica Latvijas Brāļu kapu komitejas Krustpils nodaļa 1923. gada 12. jūnijā. Pieminekļa izveidošanai Krustpils pagasta valde 1923. gada 12. novembrī  Brāļu kapu komitejas rīcībā nodeva cara Aleksandra II pieminekļa akmens daļu pie pagasta valdes ēkas, kur piemineklis bija uzstādīts par godu dzimtbūšanas atcelšanai. Latvijas Iekšlietu ministrija atļāva Brāļu kapu komitejas Krustpils nodaļai vākt ziedojumus.  Kopumā tika saziedoti 2400 latu, trūka 1200. Tos cerēja iegūt no pieminekļa atklāšanas dienas sarīkotā bazāra un saviesīgā vakara.

Pieminekļa projektu uztic arhitektam Aleksandram Birzniekam. Arhitekta plānos bija izveidot pieminekli no vietējā materiāla  - dolomīta radzēm. Pieminekļa apjomu veidoja divi koncentriski , masīvi dolomīta radžu mūra pusloki, no kuriem ārējais Daugavas pusē bija zemāks, iegriezās krastā un veidoja terasi. Tā centrā bija sarkanu ķieģeļu veidots ugunskrusts. Galvenā pusloka centrā kā altāris iebūvētas granīta plāksnes ar tekstu: “Kritušiem par Tēviju 1918 – 1920” un attēlota uzlecoša saule virs Daugavas viļņiem, un latviešu zīmju ierāmējumā. Pieminekļa centrālo daļu veidoja kritušā karavīra maska, kuru izkala tēlnieks V. Treijs. Latgales artilērijas pulka komandiera vietas izpildītājs pulkvedis – leitnants Jākobsons atļāva pieminekļa būvei izmantot laukumu Daugavas labajā krastā pretī Krustpils pilij ar noteikumu, ka laukums paliek Latgales artilērijas pulka īpašumā.

1925. gadā Latvijas Brāļu kapu komitejas Krustpils nodaļa noslēdza līgumu ar uzņēmēju V. Treiju no Rīgas par pieminekļa celtniecību Krustpilī. 1925. gada 26. jūlijā tiek ielikts pieminekļa pamats. 1925. gada 27. septembris krustpiliešiem ir svēta diena. Notiek pieminekļa atklāšana ar tā iesvētīšanu, ko veic Krustpils draudzes luterāņu mācītājs K. Skujiņš. Piedalās Kara ministrs R. Bangerskis, Latgales artilērijas pulka komandieris pulkvedis Kire, ģenerālis K. Berķis u.c. Pieminekļa celtniecībai tiek izmantoti 11 kubikasis kaļķakmens radžu, kuras izlauza pie Asotes.

20. gs. 50. gados piemineklis “Kritušiem par Tēviju 1918 – 1920” tiek daļēji nopostīts – tiek nojaukta augšējā daļa – senlatviešu karavīru maska, aizsmērēti uzraksti, iznīcināta ugunskrusta zīme. Savukārt, jau Trešās Atmodas sākumā, Latvijas Tautas frontes (LTF) Krustpils nodaļas aktīvisti pirmajās LTF rajona konferencēs rezolūcijā ierakstīja prasību atjaunot pieminekli Krustpilī. Jau 1989. gada 11. novembrī, vietā kur atradās piemineklis, tika noturēts piemiņas brīdis, kurā jēkabpilieši pieminēja savus Lāčplēšus.

1992. gada sākumā uzsāka pieminekļa atjaunošanas darbus. Cēsu komunālo uzņēmumu kombinātā tiek izgatavoti vajadzīgā lieluma un formas granīta gabali. Granītu, atbilstoši zīmējumiem apstrādāja E. Nīmanis un V. Treikmanis. Pieminekļa atjaunošanas tehnisko uzraudzību veic arhitekte Māra Steķe. Rīgā tēlniece Inta Berga atlējusi pieminekļa bronzas detaļas. Visi darbi tika finansēti no Jēkabpils pilsētas finansējuma. Atjaunoto pieminekli iesvētīja tajā laikā esošais Jēkabpils un Krustpils evaņģēliski luteriskās draudzes prāvests Modris Plāte un Jēkabpils katoļu draudzes mācītājs Jānis Bratuškins 1992. gada 18. novembrī.

Krustpilī atklāts 1925. gada 27. septembrī. Piemineklis veidots pēc arhitekta Aleksandra Birzenieka meta. Piemineklī ir iekalts uzraksts "Kritušiem pat Tēviju 1918-1920". Daļēji pieminekli nojauca Padomju okupācijas vara 1941. gadā, pilnībā to nopostīja ap 1950. gadu. Piemineklis atjaunots 1992. gada 18. novembrī.

Related stories

Prohibited lighthouses and the sea shore

During the USSR era, the seacoast in North and West Kurzeme were actually military zones closed to the public, but it was forbidden to visit the lighthouses or even take photographs

The forgotten shore of Livonia

The area of the last Liv villages on the northwest coast of Latvia has been systematically destroyed by the Council since 1950 and declared a restricted area. In 12 fishing villages, only a small handful of this nation survived, which is currently experiencing a kind of cultural renaissance.

In the footsteps of tension

People's memory is sometimes quite short. Now that everyone can go and go wherever they want, many cry for the lost cheap sausage, but have already forgotten that right behind Mērsrags, a striped boom and armed Russian soldiers, called border guards, often landed in front of the road, were passed only with written and stamped props. And not every inhabitant of the Latvian SSR could receive a permit, but only one who had first received a so-called invitation from the Roja or Kolka village council, on the basis of which he could (or could not) receive a visa to enter his militia in ten days. in the restricted border area. I had bought a house on this unfortunate coast of Kurzeme, so every spring I and my family members also had to pray and land so that the authorities would renew the entry permit.

Rebellion on the warship STOROŽEVOJ

On 8 November 1975, as was customary in the USSR, Riga hosted another large-scale celebration of the anniversary of the Bolshevik Revolution. Nobody, even in their wildest nightmares, could have imagined that the 58th anniversary of the Revolution would go down in the history of Latvia and the USSR as something unprecedented and unprecedented - a mutiny on board the Storoževoj, a large anti-submarine ship. For 15 years, the USSR denied that a mutiny had taken place on board.

Crossing the border area

"Propusk" or permission to cross the border area was as mandatory as a bus ticket.

Fake amber on the Liepāja side

For more than twenty years, the seaside of Liepāja has been dangerous due to fake amber, which the sea tends to wash away from its depths especially during spring and autumn storms.

Attempt to escape from the USSR

It will be difficult for young people and foreigners inexperienced in Soviet times to believe that it was practically impossible for a Soviet citizen to get out of the USSR legally.

Mines, bombs, torpedoes and chemical weapons in the Baltic Sea

In the first days of February 2010, a message appeared on the Swedish TV channel SVT, which caused shock and deep surprise to many.

 
Akmeņrags lighthouse and shoal - one of the largest ship cemeteries in the Baltic Sea

It was in the Akmensrags lighthouse area that on January 13, 1923, a steamer Saratov ran aground and crashed, on which the interim government, led by K. Ulmanis, took refuge, when the independent state of Latvia became independent.

“PZ" - border zone

Memories of Andris Zaļkalns, Chairman of the Vērgale Village Council of People's Deputies (1982-1989), about life in the border area.

 
"Here will be the Latvian SSR NPP!"

Andris Zaļkalns (born 1951, Chairman of the Vērgale Village Council of People's Deputies (1982-1989)) recalls the time when a nuclear power plant was almost built in Akmeņrags.

Damage to Irbene radio telescopes

Before leaving Irbene, the Soviet army damaged all radio telescope systems

Slītere State Reserve in the border regime zone

Memories of former employees of Slītere State Reserve about Soviet times.

Border regime area

About times in the border regime area.

"Wind. Despite. And the Liv flag. ” (excerpt) - Ghost ships and barbed wire

Gunta Kārkliņa's memories of the Soviet times on the Liv coast - how did the boat cemetery appear there?

About Upīškalns former military object

Memories of Valdis Pigožnis during the operation of "Upīškalns" about Upīškalns military base

(Pigožnis was former head of Kurmale parish)

Kolka Cape border guard observation tower

During the USSR, border guards observed and controlled the waters of the Irbe Strait from this tower, and at that time it was often said that even a duck could not swim through this strait without the knowledge of the border guards.

On Košradznieki relations with Soviet army

Imants Upner's memories of the Soviet era.

About Kolka border guards

Baiba Šuvcāne, a resident of Kolka, tells about the times in Kolka when there were border guards.

About Kolka coast border guards

Kolka resident Valija Laukšteine's memories of the times in Kolka when there were border guards.

War airfield near Tukums

Today, in Soviet times, army destroyers stood in barely visible, overgrown hangars on the highway to Tukums. Even in those days, the airfield with hangars was disguised and ignorant people did not know about it.

USSR army base in Marciena

The Baltics were one of the most important lines of defense for the Soviet empire, the extreme western bastion, so the concentration of troops here was enormous. It is believed that Latvia was the most militarized territory in the world at that time. The exact number of military personnel is unknown, various sources mention 200,000 to 350,000 at different times. In 50 years alone, 3,009 troops were deployed in more than 700 locations in Latvia. One such place was the USSR army base in Marciena.

About D.Breiksis national partisan group

The memorial site is located on the site of the former “Daiņkalni” and “Graškalni” houses of Rauna Parish, under which a group of national partisans led by Dailonis Breiks (nickname Edgars, 1911-1952) hid in the bunkers created from 1950 to 1952.

Forest Daughter Domicella Pundure (Lucia)

Domicella Pundure is 90. At Riga Castle on May 3, 2018, she received the Order of Viesturs from the hands of President Raimonds Vejonis for special merits in the national resistance movement and in defending the country's independence. Domicella Pundure remains the last witness to the battle of Stompaku bog.

Pēteris Supe - the initiator of the founding of the Latvian National Partisan Association

From 1944 to 1946, Peter Supem managed to unite the national partisan units scattered in the forests in an organized movement that fought against the occupation of Latvia in the Abrene district for several years after the Second World War. Pēteris Supe, nicknamed "Cinītis", was one of the most outstanding organizers and leaders of the national guerrilla movement in Northern Latgale.

The life of General Jānis Balozis after returning from deportation

When the Russians tried to force a military base agreement from the Latvian government in 1940, which would make the Latvian army's resistance to the Red Army almost impossible, General J. Balodis tries to get some amendments to this agreement. But it fails. But the general's bad guys use this circumstance to later correct J. Balodi almost as a traitor. After a conflict with the Prime Minister of the State and Prime Minister K. Ulmanis, on April 5, 1940, the General was relieved of the post of Minister of War. Then J. Balodis decides to participate in the Saeima elections from the Democratic Bloc, but nothing comes out of it, because only one list may stand for election - the list of communist candidates. Latvia becomes the 14th Soviet republic.

On the occupation of Latvia

The existence of the independent state of Latvia in 1940 was interrupted by the occupation and annexation by the Soviet Union, or incorporation into the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR).

About the Salaspils Memorial as a symbol of the ideology of the Soviet occupation regime.

The description vividly describes the extent to which a place of remembrance is politicized and its role in the ideology of the Soviet Union. The text states that one of the main goals is to fight the "rebirth of fascism". This shows that efforts with ideological infrastructure to hide communist crimes and prevent dissent are continuing. Memorial sites, Soviet army cemeteries and museums, and various cultural events maintained the myth of the "liberation of Latvia" and the "Brother Soviet Union." An inverted view of the events of World War II in Latvia was created using the facts of Nazi crimes.

Exhumation of Soviet army soldiers in Blīdene parish in 2019

In July 2019, the Soldiers' Search Team "Leģenda" exhumed 66 soldiers' ashes in a forest in Blīdene parish. Due to superficiality or omission during the Soviet era, the majority of these soldiers are counted as officially reburied during the Soviet years. The names of these soldiers are even engraved on the tombstones in the Tuški Brethren Cemetery.

Flight to Vaiņode airfield

The story of the German air raid on Vaiņode airfield in June 1941

Tukums reserve aerodrome management in the 90s.

With the departure of the Soviet occupation forces, the looting of many former war bases began. Soviet soldiers tried to take out as much as possible and leave the degraded infrastructure. After the departure of the troops, these bases continued to be looted by civilians and to exploit former military infrastructure.

About found war items

In today's Latvia, the collections of various museums are supplemented by the personal collections of private individuals, which are often exhibited in public and are accessible to everyone. Many people's hobbies are ancient things, including items related to military history. Visitors often do not have an idea of the origin of these things. They suddenly appeared? In all cases, it's several years of work and an interesting, personal story about one person's interests in putting things together to make a museum out of them, for example. The narrator describes his personal experience, giving the reader an idea of the situation in Latvia after World War II. The legacy of various armies and the lack of raw materials on the farm are forcing people to find creative ways to use virtually anything to survive. Over time, the useless on the farm become valuable, historical exhibits that tell about the experience of Latvia and its people.

Stories of sunken machinery

Numerous stories of machinery sinking in swamps and lakes have survived in Latvia. Few of them are true.

July 1976 military-patriotic game "Orlenko" at the landfill near Irbene

July 1976 military-patriotic games "Orlenok" at the tank training ground near Irbene, in which 17-year-old Evalds Krieviņš participated and secretly photographed the games, equipment and even the Irbene antenna with a Sme8M camera

Pranks and games with military ammunition

After the Second World War, the land of Latvia was full of the physical remnants of the war. It was a large number of rounds, unexploded ordnance and simple cartridges. Even today, especially in places where there has been active warfare, unexploded ordnance is found, which is very rare, while in the post-war years these charges in the forests and even in the courtyards were the everyday life of the inhabitants and even children's toys.

 
Life on the Kegums side during World War II

Memories of a distant wartime flare up. For the older generation, it would remind them of their own experiences, perhaps bored of the young.

Memories from the diary left abroad - service at Ķegums HPP

Jānis Jaunozoliņš. "Memories from the Diary Left Abroad" (August 16, 1944-13.10.1946) Excerpts.

Injury of Major General N. Dedajev at the Middle Fort of Liepāja Fortress

In June 1941, the successful attack of the German army had reached Liepaja, when Liepaja was attacked by the 291st Infantry Division of the German Armored Forces. When hostilities between Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union began in June 1941, the Liepaja garrison of the Soviet Army consisted of troops from the Liepaja naval base of the Navy and the Red Army. During these battles Major General N.Dedaev was mortally wounded

The story of Ventspils 46th Coast Guard Battery Fire Correction Tower

The Ventspils Military Heritage Site is unique because it is one of the few coastal defence structures in Latvia and the Baltics that depict the history of World War II fortifications. It is also unique in that it is a military object built by the Soviet Union during the years of independence of the Republic of Latvia and in a way symbolises the inability of a small country to confront the superpowers on the eve of World War II. It is the only coastal defence battery that has survived so well, without historical layers and in its complete state of construction. The site shows the entire evolution of the Soviet military concept from 1939 until the withdrawal of Soviet troops in 1994.

Liepāja - at the crossroads of various historical events

The inhabitants of Liepāja were among the first in Latvia to experience the outbreak of the Second World War and among the last for whom the war ended both literally and symbolically. The Second World War and the Soviet occupation of Liepāja ended only in 1994, when the last troops of the USSR's heir, Russia, left the city.

The fate of Krasnoflotsk after the Soviet withdrawal

After the last Soviet troops left Latvia in 1993, the Krasnoflotsk or Olmani coastal defence battery also came into the possession of the Latvian National Defence Forces. Soon the orphaned property began to be seized by for-profit prospectors.

Discovery at the site of the Grieze filtration camp

Various objects belonging to former soldiers are often found at the site of the Grieze filtration camp and along the roads leading to it. Soldiers, arrested civilians, prisoners of war, etc. disposed of them for various reasons, both to avoid being identified and to avoid being subjected to "special attention".

Pieta or "Māmuļa" Memorial Ensemble in Nīkrāce

Pieta, or Mammy, is a well-known motif in European culture and art, and was also used in Soviet times.

Stoning of tanks

During the Soviet era, the entire Kurzeme coast was a closed zone. Children who lived near the Soviet army unit in Targale parish, including Ovishi, used to have fun throwing stones at tanks.

Kurzeme coast - closed area

During the Cold War, the entire Kurzeme coastline was a closed zone to the public - Soviet border guards were the main decision-makers here, with guard posts at certain distances and observation towers with spotlight stations on the beach. Civilians were only allowed on the seafront during daylight hours.